iWorld option for UK?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by DJS1234, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. DJS1234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    #1
    Hi everyone

    Just upgraded my IPSF iphone from 1.1.1 to 1.1.2 and as advised by IPSF i've installed iWorld but there's no option for the UK (Or England or Great Britain) I'm running it with a Vodafone simcard and there haven't been any crashed so far, is iWorld necessary in the UK?

    Cheers
    Dan
     
  2. eggplant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #2
    I think its for phone users who are using the phone in a different language so I'd say its not necessary.
     
  3. headspace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    #3
    Yeah, you shouldn't need it. As the iPhone is now being sold officially in the UK, the phone already has all the UK specifc settings you need. iWorld is intended for users not in US, Canada, UK, Germany, France, Italy, Japan or China.
     
  4. DJS1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    #4
    That's cool, the phone is all well so far after the upgrade so all is well!

    Now I just need to work on a way of unlocking 1.1.2 phones fresh out of the apple store as I've got people pestering me for help who are stuck on contracts with other networks...

    Thanks
    Dan
     
  5. macsonny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #5
    Do does that mean Australians should or shouldn't use the iWorld patch? What exactly does it do?
     
  6. jedad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #6
    UK settings in Iworld

    Hi Everyone

    Ive just updated to 1.1.2 from 1.1.1 using the 'hacktheiphone.com' PC guide, which is a fantastic guide.
    Unlocked using anySIM1.2.1u.

    Unfortunately my phone is now occasionally crashing, mainly in safari. I am using a US bought iphone in the UK with an o2 sim card.
    I would have hoped the UK setting in iworld would have fixed my crashing problem. But UK is not in the list.

    If iworld is only intended for unsupported countries, why is there an option for US and Germany?

    Could anyone suggest a reason for why my phone might be crashing or what I could do to fix it.

    Is it worth restoring it and starting again?

    Cheers

    Joe
     
  7. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #7
    Have you set the region settings to UK?
     
  8. jedad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #8
    Thanks for your suggestion, yes I have, just to be sure here is the region setting I mean.

    Settings/General/International/Region Format = United Kingdom

    Joe
     
  9. Count de Monet macrumors newbie

    Count de Monet

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #9
    If the settings are already in a UK iPhone by default what will happen when I use my UK phone when I am in Greece with my Greek PAYG Vodafone SIM and then want to use my o2 PAYG SIM when I return to the UK.

    Will the Greek iWorld settings overwrite the default UK settings
     

Share This Page