Jabber/xmpp does not work?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by dg4prez, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. dg4prez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #1
    Since installing el capitan public, I cannot sign in to my company jabber server in any app. I was using adium without any issues - now I can't sign in with adium, or messages, or anything else. I have to admit, I'm kind of stumped. Firewall is disabled. It starts signing in, and during authentication it just sort of hangs up and never finishes.

    Am I the only one, or have others seen this behavior as well?
     
  2. jruschme macrumors 6502

    jruschme

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    Brick, NJ
    #2
    Strange... I've been using my company's Jabber server just fine with El Capitan, but I've been using Messages.
     
  3. michael.sommer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    #3
    same problem here... we use OpenFire as Jabber Server... connection just hangs and does nothing when trying to connect - since the update on OSX 10.11 El Capitan. Hope someone will find out what is going on. i dont find anything in the logs, not on the client nor on the server side...
     
  4. gregjewett macrumors newbie

    gregjewett

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    Pflugerville, TX
    #4
    Same. I can get Facebook and Google Jabber connections to work, but the Jabber Server will not connect.

    It worked great in 10.9, 10.10, but broke in 10.11 (El Capitan)
     
  5. dg4prez thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #5
    I think it's got to do with the requirement for TLS 1.2 connections on anything using ATP. Basically the server isn't up to snuff according to the OS, so it won't even bother talking to it.

    I was able to connect using Psi, and I suspect an older version of Adium that doesn't use ATP might also work. Not really sure. Psi is an ok short term solution, I guess, though it's nothing as good as adium or messages.
     
  6. michael.sommer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    #6
    Absolutely => my OpenFire Server was still running on JRE 6 which does not Support TLS 1.2. I updated the server and the new version was coming with JRE 7 which has TLS 1.2 support => problem solved!
     

Share This Page