iPhone 5 or earlier Jailbrake Question -Is it forever unreversed

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by justabrake, Oct 15, 2018.

  1. justabrake macrumors regular

    justabrake

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #1
    If your iphone was jailbroken once does that ever go away or does it stay with the phone forever ?

    I'm on beta 12.1 #4 i've been told by a website that I can't do much on their site because my iphone was jailbroken I had jailbroke it years ago maybe 4 years ago I talked to their tech and that's what he's telling me.
     
  2. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #2
    From what I seen, and I may be wrong, but every time you load a new iOS on your iPhone, you will need to jailbreak it again.
     
  3. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68030

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    As soon as you restore the phone and put whatever iOS is being signed by Apple the jaibreak is gone. Matter of fact, no one can actually tell it had ever been jail broken before unless you tell them.
     
  4. msooffutt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #4
    Old jailbreak files will stay on your phone unless you do a restore on your phone. You can sometimes get away with doing a full restore and then use a previous backup, but to insure that everything is totally gone, a restore and then set up as new, will bring it back to full stock.
     
  5. justabrake thread starter macrumors regular

    justabrake

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #5
    Well I talked to their tech support and that's what they said I never mentioned it being jailbroken They told me I couldn't do certain things on their website because it was a jailbroken iphone how they knew that I don't know they told me get another phone LOL

    I was wondering maybe they're seeing the beta 12.1 -4 and thinking ti is compromised My jailbreak was years ago and has been done over and over with new ios's

    I think maybe I'll try my sons galaxy phone when I see him but thought maybe you people can confirm what he said I also thought maybe apple had listed it as jailbroke phone ...........
    --- Post Merged, Oct 15, 2018 ---

    I'm not sure if I ever did a whole full restore and only a restore, OK but now i'm on a beta ! and it might not be able to get a full restore ! I once sold an Iphone on a beta that was about to expire but the guy said he couldn't restore it he had to wait for apple tp release the full version
     
  6. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68030

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    What website?
     
  7. justabrake thread starter macrumors regular

    justabrake

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #7

    Fanduel it's the sportsbook on top of the page they use a GEO to know where your logging in from thats because you have to be in New Jersey only to play

    https://www.fanduel.com/contests
     
  8. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68030

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    I still don’t understand how they could possibly know if the phone is or isn’t jail broken. Are you allowing them to remote access your phone? If they don’t have any direct access and the tech claims they know “just because” I would call BS and ask if you could escalate the issue with his supervisor. Your phone is not jail broken, even if it was years in the past it is not now. If they saying the beta is the issue just restore your phone to 12.0.1. The only issue I could see is if your backups are the beta backups, you might not be able to restore your phone from those backups and would have to setup as a new phone
     
  9. justabrake thread starter macrumors regular

    justabrake

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #9
    They are New with this app so instead of telling me they ain't got there **** together maybe they're lying I don't know for sure that's why I brought this here

    they use that GEO Tracker where they can tell where your logging in from they do that with my computer also when logging and won't let you bet

    I brought the phone to their meadowlands racetrack and even tried logging in with there network wifi and couldn't had a membered staff try and he couldn't either he said call tech support and that's what they said he couldn't believe it either so then maybe they're telling the truth
    --- Post Merged, Oct 15, 2018 ---
    Hi Steven,

    Thank you for contacting FanDuel Sportsbook.

    Im sorry about the experience you was having today with our app. The reason this was happening is because the Iphone 5s you are logging in on is appearing to be an jail broken device in our system. if you change that device you should have no problems.








    Please let us know if you have any other questions or issues and we'll be happy to help you out.





    Kind Regards
    Courtel
    Customer Operations
     
  10. Europa13, Oct 15, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2018

    Europa13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #10
    Some apps have jailbreak detection and won’t work unless you use a jailbreak tweak to bypass it. It sounds like you have some residual jailbreak files on the device since it wasn’t restored and this app is detecting them. Since you aren’t using the jailbreak, just restore your phone in iTunes. The app will work fine afterwords. You don’t need to get a new phone.
     
  11. justabrake thread starter macrumors regular

    justabrake

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #11
    but i'm on a beta 12.1 . #4 right now if I do a full restore won't my phone be locked out ?
     
  12. Europa13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #12
    No. Here are directions for restoring it to 12.01. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203282 Restore it to factory settings to remove the resudual jailbreak files.
     
  13. justabrake thread starter macrumors regular

    justabrake

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    Thanks I'll try this after I get my info off the phone I'll report back and let you know how this all when in a couple of days

    Thanks All
     
  14. justabrake thread starter macrumors regular

    justabrake

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #14
    I want to thank everyone especially for the link to remove the beta

    I restored the iphone to new twice just to make sure it clears it good and clean took it to NJ this morning and it worked LOL I guess they really can tell that jailbreak must have been with that phone for years I only restored my iphone never back then to set it up as new because of to much trouble and didn't think it was necessary plus didn't want to loose anything.
     
  15. AXone1814 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    #15
    Restoring the phone will clear anything OS related on there and start again so your jailbreak will be completely removed.
     

Share This Page

14 October 15, 2018