Jailbreak gone wrong??

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by derien, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. derien macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I'm really desperate for help.
    I was previously on a jailbroken iphone 3G running 3.0 firmware.
    I decided that I wanted to upgrade to 3.1.2 now that the jailbreak was out.

    Firstly, I ran into some problems while doing the jailbreak. I used Pwnage Tool and after selecting the "iphone" i repeatedly got a message saying that the "wrong firmware bundle" was being selected.

    I found a solution for this, being that if i selected "iphone 3Gs" instead of the straight "iphone" it recognized the .ipsw file. (I figured that the "iphone" icon was referring to the ORIGINAL iphone, and the iphone 3G and 3Gs were under the same icon) I created a custom 3.1.2 ipsw file, and proceeded to jailbreak/upgrade my phone using this.

    After the process was finished I ended up with the phone not being able to connect to my carrier. (I am on an official carrier with the iphone - ie. I do not need unlock). I tried all the solutions that I could find online (mainly resetting the network settings, as well as turning off the 3G option) but none of them worked.

    I need my phone because of my work, so I started to panic a little. The only solution I could think of to do was: "Factory restore"

    Luckily while I was doing this, I realized that I still had the original 3.0 ipsw file on my computer, so i alt/option - restored to this file.

    Then I synced everything back up from the backup that I made before I started the whole 3.1.2 jailbreak process. I have all my notes, contacts, and apps. I also have reception with the carrier again.

    One more thing: I installed AptBackup before I did the whole 3.1.2 jailbreak process.

    My question is now:
    If I wanted to jailbreak again, should I just jailbreak the 3.0 firmware? If I did that, would I be able to use the AptBackup to get all the Cydia apps that I downloaded back?

    OR is a better option to try to do the 3.1.2 jailbreak again? If I wanted to do this, would i have to update THROUGH APPLE to 3.1.2 first, and then jailbreak?

    OR is it better to jailbreak the 3.0, THEN try again with PwnageTool to update to 3.1.2???

    If ANYONE has a solution, or has encountered the same pro blems, PLEASE let me know. I am at a loss for how to proceed now. THANKS!
     
  2. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #2
    Try this:

    Restore and / or update to 3.1.2.
    Set up as new phone.
    Jailbreak using whatever you would like (blackra1n is quickest and easiest IMO)
    Setup as new phone (yes youll lose backups and everything, but you wont have problems.)
     
  3. derien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #3
    hey mystikal

    if i do that, will it change my baseband? (I travel a lot so i have used ultrasn0w in the past to unlock...)
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    Yes, updating or restoring to official Apple 3.1 or 3.1.2 will update the baseband.

    If you do not want the new baseband so you can continue to unlock with Ultrasn0w, use Pwnage Tool BUT GET A TUTORIAL so you can do it correctly.
     
  5. derien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #5
    so i can upgrade to 3.1.2 with PwnageTool now with a NON jailbroken 3.0?
     
  6. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    iClarified has some good ones.
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
  8. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #8
    use redsn0w or blackra1n to rejailbreak. i like redsn0w cuz theres a verbose boot, so when people look over when u turn ur phone on u look like a hacker. =) looks cool.
     
  9. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Hmm... That sounds interesting... That would save me from wondering what the heck is going on if my phone hangs at the would be Apple logo... but at the same time if I ever need to take my phone to Apple for some issue the verbose boot would be a dead giveaway and void my warranty. :)
     
  10. derien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #10
    i am still getting the "wrong firmware bundle" message. any ideas why this is happening?
     
  11. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #11
    You're using the wrong version of firmware for your iphone version.
     
  12. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    This will not do what the OP wants.

    He wants to upgrade to 3.1.2 but keep 4.26.xx baseband so can still use Ultrasn0w

    Both of your suggestions require an upgrade to official Apple 3.1.2 which will mean he loses the 4.26.xx baseband.


    I would have thought your time out would have taught you to slow down and read the questions, then give accurate answers.
     
  13. derien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #13
    hmm
    okay i tried the file "1,2_3.1.2_7D11_Restore.ipsw" from the dev-team blog as well as other sources, but it is still giving me that same error message

    also i can't seem to locate the original one that i downloaded from apple through iTunes in the first place...
     
  14. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #14
    Wrong firmware or you clicked on the wrong phone icon in Pwnage Tool.

    3G and 3GS are same icon, the one all the way to the right.
     
  15. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #15
    actually that wasnt why i had a time out. it was because i told someone to shut up.
     
  16. derien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #16
    thanks! I will try this again.

    also i should still be clicking that the phone has been "pwned before" right? or not anymore since i basically reverted to factory 3.0 unjailbroken?
     
  17. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    Don't click the Pwned before if your last firmware was unjailbroken. Also, it can't hurt to do DFU again, which is the only difference, so might as well be safe and do it :D
     
  18. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #18
    Put it in Expert Mode.

    If you have restored the phone to official Apple IPSW answer NO.

    If it is currently JB, you can answer yes, but "No" will put the phone into DFU mode which is good.

    Also, if you have an official sim, make sure and uncheck activate phone

    If using an unofficial sim, leave the box checked.

    Also, uncheck the install Icy, just install Cydia, as the 2 don't play well together when installed via PT.
     
  19. maxim.iphone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #19
    After reading most of the posts on this thread, I feel utterly confused. There is a very simple way of doing this without all that software and rediculous jumping around.

    Blackra1n has already been said in this thread to be the easiest way. It was not a lie. download Blackra1n.exe from www.blackra1n.com (click on the Windows icon for PC users or Mac icon for Mac users) and save it to your desktop.

    Before using Blackra1n, restore your phone to original factory settings and then upgrade the firmware to 3.1.2 as normal. Do not worry about the baseband for right now.

    Once your phone is upgraded to 3.1.2, reboot the phone. Once rebooted, make sure your device is connected to the PC and run Blackra1n.exe. Click on "make it rain" and let it do its thing. Once your device reboots (which is done automatically) find and open the newly installed app that looks like a black raindrop. You'll find 3 resources to use: Cydia (8 of 10), RockApp (9 of 10), and ICY (6 of 10). Those are my personal ratings for each. choose and install your choice. After the resource installs, reboot the device if it was not already done. Open Blackra1in again and press the uninstall option at the bottom. **Don't install more than one resource. Only choose one.**

    Welcome to the Jailbreak 3.1.2 world. Now to downgrade your baseband. Okay, go into your resource like RockApp. Search for the keyword "baseband" and you'll find a search result for downgrade baseband. download and install. Once installed, reboot your device and that's it.

    I know I explained a lot, but all in all, you jailbreak with Blackra1n and then install the baseband downgrade from Cydia, RockApp, or ICY. That simple.
     
  20. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #20
    everybody in this forum has already known how to do this....geohot hacked the iphone 3 years ago.
     
  21. maxim.iphone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #21
    First of all, GeoHot originally jailbroke the iPhone 2 and a half years ago, not 3. And he did the jailbreak for version 3.1.2 firmware two months after it came out (which hasn't been anywhere close to 3 years). I simply included it as instructions for this particular thread so the original poster didn't have to reference another thread.

    And coincidentally, if everyone on this forum knows about GeoHot's jailbreak, then why are there more than half a dozen new threads/posts with people requesting info on how to jailbreak 3.1.2?

    Don't post on this thread to bash people who are trying to help. Just help the original poster.
     
  22. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #22
    1) OP specifically stated he wanted to retain 4.26.xx and continue to use Ultrasn0w

    2) If your post above is referring to FuzzyBand (the only baseband downgrade I am aware of) it only works on about 10% of the very first 3G phones with 5.08 bootloader.

    3) It is very reckless to advise someone seeking advice to go ahead and upgrade his baseband to 5.11.xx not knowing if he can downgrade it. Likely it will not work and he will be forced to use Blacksn0w.

    And searching Cydia using the word baseband brings up zero results
     
  23. derien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #23
    Retried with PT 3.1.4, worked perfectly this time. Now running jailbroken 3.1.2. :) I think putting the phone in DFU mode really helped it go smoothly. Thanks for the advice.
     
  24. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #24
    Sounds to me like the first time you created the custom firmware you forgot to uncheck the "activate" checkbox. This would result in a hacktivated phone which would not work on the official carrier. DFU mode should have absolutely no affect on the end result of your restore; DFU mode merely bypasses iBoot at the very begining of the restore process so that an unbootabke phone can be restored -- what is written to your NOR Flash will be bit-for-bit identical no matter which mode you restore in.
     

Share This Page