iPhone Jailbreak IOS 6...just need confirmation.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Larissa1, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. Larissa1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #1
    I've acquired a 3GS iphone with ios 6.0.1 already put on by previous owner, its never been jailbroke and no blobs ever saved, so I know I can't go back to ios 5xx.

    I'm not clear about whether I can JB tethered even though its too late now to save any blobs. Its got bootrom 359.3.2 and is factory unlocked if that makes a difference.

    Also if it is possible, by which method should I use, sn0breeze or redsn0w? And, if a an untethered JB is then released for say, ios 6.1 in the future will it be straightforward to update and do an untethered JB?

    Oh, and when ios 6.1 comes out will there be short window when I can save blobs or has that option gone forever for this phone now?

    So much to learn, thank you for any advice.
     
  2. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #2
    359.3 is old bootrom
    359.3.2 is new bootrom

    Check for blobs using tiny umbrella just in case, you might be surprised.

    You can jailbreak 6.0.1 tethered, check the guide in my signature. I prefer redsn0w. Unlock has nothing to do with jailbreaking.

    If an untethered is released in the future, then you'll likely be able to update either through the jailbreak tool or cydia to untether it without requiring a restore and re-jailbreak.

    You can save blobs for a certain firmware for as long as that firmware is "active" and being signed by Apple. So you can save your blobs for 6.0.1 now as that is the newest and "active" firmware, and then 6.1 when it's released.
     
  3. Larissa1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #3
    Thanks for your reply.

    I've already checked for blobs with TU and nothing there, not surprised as I know the previous owner and she would never have done anything that would save them.

    I've tried saving current blobs using TU but it looks like nothing can be saved, unless, as is quite likely I'm misunderstanding something...

    I did try request SHSH from CYDIA but confirmed nothing found.

    Thank you for the advice and link to redsn0w, I'll follow it now and use that method

    Do I have to take account of any messages about 'baseband', I see it mentioned and wonder if I will have to replace or keep mine if the message comes up?

    Feel like I'm getting closer now.
     
  4. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #4
    No blobs is no problem. Try saving the blobs after you jailbreak.

    As long as the baseband wasn't changed for an unlock, which assuming you didn't, I'm sure the prior user didn't either, then you don't need to pay attention to baseband while jailbreaking. That's primarily used in the process of baseband unlocking.
     
  5. Larissa1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #5
    Thank you, I'm ready to go ahead now and join you all on the other side.
     
  6. Larissa1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #6
    Well I went ahead and now have a tethered 6.0.1, I've rebooted a few times and confident about the process.

    Along the way I discovered I do have blobs, though though TU logs say I didn't save them, so not sure what's going on. I've verified 4.1 (say all 19 blobs present and correct), and 6.0.1 (all 6 blobs there), so is 19 and respectively correct for these IOS version? Also Cydia list 4.1 and 6.0.1 on the top of the screen in that app, so I guess they are really saved?

    I've stitched the blobs to IOS 4.1 and if you would recommend that version over 6.0.1 I'll downgrade and try a tethered JB, what do you think?
     
  7. Dizzay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    #7
    I don't know man 4.1 is kind of down there, personally I love having iCloud but if you don't care then go for it.

    From my personal experience with tethered jailbreaks, they aren't too bad just make sure you stay vigilant about keeping your phone charged and don't get too lazy. If this is a problem though then deff switch to 4.1 as its untethered.
     
  8. Larissa1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #8
    Yes, shame about not being able to go to 5.1.1. I'll stay tethered at 6.0.1 for now and see how it goes.
     

Share This Page