iPhone Jailbreak messed up Apple ID?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by HankHowdy, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #1
    Ok guys I'm on my last leg here. I cannot log into iTunes when trying to download an app. I can log into iCloud and Game Center. I get the error pop up cannot connect to iTunes.

    I think my last step left is to do a full restore and loose my jailbreak.

    Does anybody have some ideas?

    Things I have tried .

    Reboot

    Change password.

    Use set time automatically.

    Reset network settings.

    ILex Rat full restore.

    Called verizon and apple. They're stumped.

    I really want to keep my jailbreak guys.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    I really doubt its because of the JB that your Apple ID and password doesn't work with the appstore.
    Never heard of such thing before.
     
  3. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #3
    That's what I thought. I can use my apple Id for the App Store on other iPhones, but not mine.
     
  4. RoofMonkey911 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #4
  5. Troneas macrumors 65816

    Troneas

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    At the alternatives section.
    #5
    if you ran ilex rat - which supposedly removes everything you've installed with the exception of the jailbreak itself (which all it does is give you root access) and you still cannot log into itunes or the app store then the problem has to be somewhere else.


    unless they remotely cancelled your account (which apparently they haven't), these are online services you are trying to access and your jailbreak should not be interfering with that whatsoever.



    edit: do you experience this problem using both wifi and data connection?
     
  6. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #6
    Can some upload the original host file?

    Mine is not original. Just shooting in the dark here. Trying anything.

    Apple told me that I have to replace the device. They think that I have already restore the firmware. That is my last resort before replacing the device.

    ----------


    This was a refurb replacement from verizon. I was able to install apps with this refurb.

    I have no data issues. I even used the same wifi network in the other device and I still was able to log in on the other device.
     
  7. Troneas macrumors 65816

    Troneas

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    At the alternatives section.
    #7
    hmm. i used the latest of the host files when i was jailbroken and that never prevented me from accessing those services.


    dont want to be the bearer of bad news buddy but it seems to me you've reached the end of the road here.


    jailbreaking is just a temporary paradise in iOS. it doesnt last. its all an illusion anyway. do as i did, switch to android.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Very weird for sure bro.
     
  9. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #9
    I'm using a modified host and I would like to try the original.
     
  10. Troneas macrumors 65816

    Troneas

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    At the alternatives section.
    #10
    ya i too was using a modified host from june 2013 to block ads. never had a problem with it.



    i would send you the original if i had it, but i dont. sorry.
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #11
    I don't know if you have tried this or not since it wasn't on your list, but have you tried logging out of the store and then signing back in?

    Settings>iTunes & App Store, press on your Apple ID. You'll get a box asking what you want to do and signing out is one option. Then you just sign back in with the new password.

    Sorry if you've already tried this, but you didn't mention you had.
     
  12. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #12
    I did try this and I could never sign back in.

    Thanks for all the replies guys.

    Tomorrow around 6:30pm PST I will perform a restore as new with iTunes if I can't get this fixed.

    Still open to suggestions until then.
     
  13. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #13
    Try this. Now that I am thinking about it, I had the same issue a year or so ago. This was one of the tricks I tried. I think logging out and back in worked for me, but this may work for you.
     
  14. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #14
    Did you manually change your iOS version number? If so change it back to original
     
  15. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #15
    No luck with this one.

    ----------

    I did manually change my iOS version. I will try to change it back.

    ----------

    OMG! You can't image the joy I'm feeling right now. Thank you so much. This was the issue.

    You are the best. Thank you. Thank you.
     
  16. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #16
    There is an update for push for gmail allowing 6.0+ i remember that you were using it as well :)
     
  17. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #17
    Nice. I haven't had that installed in a while. Thanks again.
     
  18. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #18
    Great suggestion TriJet! This is precisely why we always suggest using caution when manually changing your iOS version. I don't have any apps that require it. I probably wouldn't even make that change because of this type of problem. I would probably just delete the app lol
     
  19. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #19
    Saves the day again:D
     
  20. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
  21. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #21
    Jailbreak messed up Apple ID?

    Sometimes a JB might interfere, as was the case here indirectly.
     
  22. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #22
    The jb didn't interfere here nor it will never cause this issue, a tweak/mod to change version was the cause.
     
  23. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #23
    You're absolutely right. But I think TriJet's point was that if the OP was never jailbroken he could have never been able to cause this particular issue. Hence, indirectly a jailbreak can potentially cause an annoying issue.
     
  24. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #24
    I believe i posted "indirectly"
    Without the jailbreak it would not be possible to edit the version number....

    ----------

    :) seconds too late...
     
  25. sand_man macrumors 6502a

    sand_man

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa

Share This Page