Jailbreak not working.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by sabres12bills, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. sabres12bills macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #1
    I tried to jailbreak my iphone 3g and this is what i got. all the installers and everything worked perfect no issues. BUT, my iphone is now not making any calls. I did click on activate iphone in the jailbreak and restored the iphone and tried without clicking activate iphone and got the same result. I used pawnage tool on my backbook(not new silver model). I did the pusher version not a true jaibreak and that works fine but limits my options. Can someone please help me with this.
     
  2. neesh0 macrumors 6502a

    neesh0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Did you buy the phone with a contract? If you didn't (you bought the phone from the internet or something) that means you're phone is locked to a certain carrier and you have to buy a contract for it to work. If you did buy it with a contract then restore it and try the jailbreak again.
     
  3. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #3
    There's your problem. You're not supposed to click on that box if you're a legitimate user. This is only for people taking their phones to unsupported networks.

    Jailbreak again, and do not check that box.
     
  4. thesoze macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    #4
    he's right....this only unlocks gen 1 Iphones - you cannot unlock 3G ones
     
  5. sabres12bills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #5
    doesnt make sense

    i have a contract with att already. i restored the phone and did the jailbreak again without checking the box for activate the iphone. i have sence tried this again and i get the same thing every time.






     
  6. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #6
    Did you use QuickPwn, or PwnageTool?

    Whichever you used, try the other one. You may have better results from one over the other.
     
  7. ChiliBlue macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    I had the same problem with Pwnage tool. This is what worked for me. When going through the setup and it gives you the option to check Cydia and Installer, don't check Installer. I don't know what Installer is or does but I think it maybe something evil. :eek:
     
  8. rgt168 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #8
    sabre12 - you might consider downloading a fresh itunes and the files as stated on http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1881
    That is a really easy method for JB using quickpwn. Maybe starting fresh might do it. Restarting the pc after uninstall and the fresh install of itunes has been suggested by some in the other forums too.
    G'luck!
     
  9. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #9
    Save a copy of your iTunes library file though. This has all of your meta data (playcounts, ratings, etc).

    You'll probably want to hold onto that. ;)
     

Share This Page