Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tl01

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jun 20, 2010
I've had an iPhone since the first one and have a 4s now. I am interested in jailbreaking but am nervous. What are the risks? What is the chance I will brick my phone? I have apple care +. Would I be able to get a new one if I bricked it? Is it hard to do? I'm a mom of two little boys who loves tech stuff but I am by no means an computer expert. I'm also thinking of taking my phone back and getting it replaced due to poor battery life. Can I still exchange if I restore it first if I jailbreak it or will I have to wait til I have the new one? How stable is the jailbroken phone right now?

Thanks!!

ThHeartlessHero

macrumors member
Jan 22, 2012
While legal to jailbreak your device, it can void the warranty. If you brick your device beyond repair (unable to restore in DFU) then you can switch it out, no evidence of a jailbreak, just a busted phone. If you are successful in a jailbreak, you can always restore to a non-jailbroken state and no one is the wiser. There is a battery tweak about to go live that is suppose to increase battery life so you could try that after you jailbreak.

Here is the tutorial I used to jailbreak and had no issues at all with it. Basically you just plug it in, and hit jailbreak and wait. The process takes time depending on how much stuff is on your phone (16gb of 32gb on mine took about 30min while friend's relatively new phone took less than 5)

http://www.redmondpie.com/jailbreak-iphone-4s-ipad-2-untethered-on-ios-5.0.1-using-absinthe/

Kayan

macrumors 6502
Jul 7, 2010
CA