Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mich070

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 22, 2013
Hey guys!

I am quite new in this whole thing of jailbreaking, but I have there some questions which I would like to get answered before doing anything I don't want to happen to my phone!
So i am an owner of an Iphone 5 with ios 7.1.2 and as I was checking some videos with some useful tweaks, I was thinking to myself that it would be really awesome to have them on my phone. But my question is: After jailbreaking my phone, how would it be possible to "restore" my phone to a new phone if I might do somehthing wrong, but stil staying on ios 7 and to not jump to ios 8.. Is it possible to do it by resetting your phone manually? By this I mean when you do this with your phone? After this I can't restore my things back to my phone from iTunes, as my pictures, messages and etc?

Thank you very much for your help!

mich070

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 22, 2013
With or without jailbreaking there's currently no way to restore (fresh install) ios 7 on the iPhone 5.

what I actually last time did was doing under Settings->Reset-> Delete all Contents and Settings. Isn't this kind of a resetting and staying still on ios7 ? After doing this is it possible to restore my data from Itunes, or will I automatically be updated to ios8?

----------

And if your iphone on ios7 is jailbroken, how to unjailbreak it back without having to upgrade to ios 8? Because I really want to stay with ios 7, that s the matter haha

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
And if your iphone on ios7 is jailbroken, how to unjailbreak it back without having to upgrade to ios 8? Because I really want to stay with ios 7, that s the matter haha
Unjailbreaking requires a restore.

Restoring means you get updated to the latest version of iOS being signed by Apple.