iPhone Jailbreak tweak to change 4G icon?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by CallOfDuty, Jan 7, 2014.

  1. CallOfDuty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys, Im kind of a newbie to Jailbreaking here. Recently, I've temporary moved to other country for work and basically now my iPhone shows 4G instead of the usual LTE. You can call me weird, but it really bugs me out for some reason. I know its the carrier's decision whether they want Apple to put LTE or 4G, but is there anyway I can install any tweak to change the 4G icon to LTE?

    And no, I'm not being delusional. The network Im running on is indeed LTE. But they opted to put it as 4G instead. I think it bugged me out as in the US AT&T's HSPA+ network is labelled as 4G.

    I'm on an iPhone 5S running iOS 7 btw .
     
  2. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #3
    No, you're definitely on 4G. HSPA+ is 4G in the USA and everywhere else. I'm guessing you have a US iPhone 5S, which in all likelihood doesn't even have the correct LTE band for whatever country you're in.

    Not sure why you'd want to change the name. The LTE vs 4G is determined by which technology the phone is using, so there's no "My phone is on AM but the radio says FM" kinda possibility.

    In many countries, 4G (HSPA+) is fast if not faster than the average LTE. If you just want it to say LTE then say that, but don't try to convince us (or yourself) that you're really on LTE when the phone says 4G... LOL
     
  3. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    It is a possibility depending on the carrier package. It's the labeling here

    It's kind of how "4G" is labeled as "3G" if you're using the default carrier bundle
     
  4. yzjustdatguy macrumors regular

    yzjustdatguy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta
  5. jugih, Feb 18, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014

    jugih macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #6
    You can also use use cydia tweak "commcenter patch"
    Then modify your carrier.plist via iFile. Change dataIndicatorOverrideForLTE to "LTE"

    In addition to my earlier posting, this way you get original LTE font and size.
    Don't forget to do commcenter patching first, otherwise, you won't get your signal after editing carrier.plist because it breaks modded files' signature matching.
     
  6. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #7
    you are wrong the only country who considers 4G as HSPA+ is the U.S, everywhere else 4G is LTE. if the iPhone is showing 4G (doesn't matter if he bought the phone in the U.S) then the user is on LTE, (if this user is outside the U.S and canada. ) the reason why the U.S sells regular HSPA+ as faux 4G is just marketing bullcrap

    want to see the true radio your phone is connected to? I can proove this...
    Op. respring your phone and stare at the network status bar, you'll see the phone quickly popup an LTE sign then change it to 4G. (do this before you apply the hack)
     
  7. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #8

    Just go here to change it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. jugih macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #9
    ^^ i bet that doesn't work because of dataindicatoroverrideforLTE flag in carrier.plist
    For me, on the place you mentioned 4G is set 4G and I still got LTE because of carrier.plist overriding that.
     
  9. NOTmacbookpro13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    #10
    Is there any way to change 4G to LTE on a non-jailbroken iPhone?
     
  10. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #11
    Nope
     
  11. jugih macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #12
    Actually this worked :) thanks for this dude and sorry for doubting without any facts.
    Thisway tweak is good cause you dont have to patch commcenter.

    Yay!!
     
  12. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #13

    Cool
     
  13. hharzer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #14
    Hello, since it's kind of the same problem I'm hooking up to your problem.

    I live in an area that has pretty good 3G(DC/HSPA+) coverage of my carrier, however, sometimes it drops down to EDGE or even GPRS when I'm indoors for example. The latter's the problem: before iOS 7, the iPhone displayed a circle to signal GPRS connections, but that changed after the updated: now it literally displays GPRS. This simply looks hideous!

    So I looked for a solution to change it to, say, G. But that's nowhere to be found!

    Does someone know where I can change that ?

    Thanks in advance and best regards ☺
     
  14. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #15

    Did you try my method that I listed in this thread?
     
  15. hharzer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #16
    Yep, tried this already. GPRS is nowhere to be found ...
     
  16. burrzoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #17
    Hi, I hope you or someone will respond. I understand how to get to the Localizable.strings file but how the heck do you embed or point to the .png file? Are you not opening the strings file with a Text editor like Text Wrangler? What am I missing here? It certainly looks like you are able to use a PNG based on your screenshots. Thanks in advance!
     
  17. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #18
    Does the 'Change 4G to LTE' tweak work ok on iOS 8 ?

    I'm in the Uk but for my own eye candy reasons prefer my iPhone saying 'LTE' instead of the Uk '4G'
     
  18. HenryLong macrumors 6502

    HenryLong

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #19
    Works on 8.1.2
     
  19. burrzoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #20
    Are you changing the 4G "text" to an LTE icon or just the text name? As shown in the tutorial above, HankHowdy is using an icon/png. Do you know how to do this for the 3G or 2G text?
    I forgot yo ask you this. Would your phone ever display "LTE" or does that not even exist with your cellular provider?
     
  20. HenryLong macrumors 6502

    HenryLong

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #21
    The 2G/3G/4G are text coded from a plist. It's not possible to replace them with an icon/png. As of iOS 7 only GPRS as well as LTE are icon/png based symbols. 'Change 4G to LTE' replaces the 4G text to the LTE icon.
    Vodafone Germany displays 4G when being on LTE. The only way for me to have LTE shown (which is themable by custom png) is by using a tweak like 'Change 4G to LTE'.
     
  21. burrzoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #22
    Thank you so much HenryLong! I really appreciate the explanation. This is exactly what I've been searching for!
     
  22. ipos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

Share This Page