Jailbreak vs. apps and latest iPhone software

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by skinnylegs, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    Some apps require that you have the latest iPhone OS software installed on your phone. If you don't, you can't dl the app. I remember seeing an app that somehow tricked the App Store into thinking you *do* have the latest software, when in fact you don't, but for the life of me, I can't find it.

    Anyone?
     
  2. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #2
    Don't know the answer to your question, but if you spoof to a higher OS then what you really have you risk the app crashing on you.
     
  3. rwilliams macrumors 68040

    rwilliams

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #3
    It's a jailbreak app on Cydia called "Firmware 3.1.3". It changes a value in a .plist file (I believe) to trick apps into thinking that you're running 3.1.3.

    Evernote is catching flack from some of us on their forums for requiring 3.1.3 to install their universal binary (iPhone + iPad). The installation process, if done from iTunes, wipes out the existing copy of Evernote on the device and THEN alerts you that you don't have the proper OS version. If you don't have a backup of the previous version of Evernote, you're out of luck. Evernote's response so far has been "upgrade", while other developers have proven that 3.1.3 is not necessary to create a universal binary. Dragon Dictation initially released their binary and required 3.1.3, and then the very next day, released an update that removed that restriction. That's how you respond to your customers.
     
  4. skinnylegs thread starter macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #4
    Thanks, buddy. I was trying to install the apps for the iPhone and iPad that allow you to take pics on the iPhone but have them saved on the iPad.
     
  5. nickrinaldi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #5
    i used the 3.13 spoof app on cydia. Works for me.
    the "instapaper" apps latest update requires 3.13 and it wouldnt download and install on my iphone so after installing the spoof it loaded fine and it works fine.
     

Share This Page