Jailbreak with blackra1n then pwnage - Rock eats up memory

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Jumpie, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. Jumpie macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    Yes, I have done some research and can't find the answer.

    First, I jailbroke using blackra1n and I also have my shsh on file with Cydia.

    I need to restore. If I do that, can I still jailbreak using the dev team's pwnage tool?

    My phone has a lot of other in the memory and I want to restore. Can I still do it this way?

    thanks

    *** update: Rock leaks memory ***
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Are you using Rock ? There are 2 threads here about Rock eating up the other memory.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3

    Yes you can restore to 3.1.2 and jb again or restore to custom firmware etc.
    Just make sure you don't restore to official 3.1.3
     
  4. Jumpie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Yes, I'm using Rock but I just uninstalled it. Will this solve the issue? I can't find anything on it.

    And, do I have to make sure I do the Cydia restore, or can I just restore to 3.1.2 without the Apple signing thing?
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    You cannot restore a 3GS phone to 3.1.2 without using your stored SHSH.
     
  6. Jumpie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    So this is what I've just found. I uninstalled Rock and Rock extensions earlier today. As soon as I plugged in my phone to sync, voila!, a little over 3 gig of memory showed back up.

    So it's definitely an issue with Rock leaking memory.
     
  7. bored911 macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    It has to do with the rockapp log file. There's a thread here:http://www.reddit.com/r/iphone/comments/bdk0l/huge_rockapp_log_file/ that explains that you need to:
    Hope this helps everyone having problems.
     
  8. Jumpie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #8
    thanks. a little late though :rolleyes:

    I never really used it any way. I got everything off of Cydia.
     

Share This Page