Jailbreaked iPhone won't receive signal!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by 2A Batterie, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. 2A Batterie macrumors 6502a

    2A Batterie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Out of a Suitcase, USA
    #1
    I just did the jailbreak on my iPhone 3G that had 2.2 software on it by using Pwnage 2.2. I restored and synced and my phone turns on and works, but it won't receive any network info like calls or any info from AT&T's 3G network. Any ideas why? I'm freaking out!
     
  2. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #2
    Did you use Pwnage Tool in Expert Mode or Simple Mode, or QuickPwn. In Expert Mode, you have to deselect the Activate box in General before you build the IPSW. This is because when you restore your iPhone with the custom IPSW, iTunes activates your iPhone, not Pwnage Tool. Try building a new IPSW and restoring with the new one. It worked for me!

    David
     
  3. 2A Batterie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2A Batterie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Out of a Suitcase, USA
    #3
    I did it in expert and just followed instructions, mainly because I read that Pwnage should be done in expert mode for those who want to install PDAnet. Should I just do a quickpwn?
     
  4. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #4
    "Activate" box when you make your firmware will do that every time if you have AT&T..
     
  5. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #5
    You shouldn't use QuickPwn! Pwnage Tool is much better. When you come to the window where there is a General, Cydia, Installer, Build and other boxes, double click the General one. Deselect the Activate box as iTunes will activate your iPhone when you do the custom restore. At the end, after you enter DFU mode, quit Pwnage Tool and option-click Restore in iTunes as Pwnage Tool instructs you to do. I had the same problem and always forget to deselect this box each time I jailbreak after a firmware update!

    David
     
  6. 2A Batterie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2A Batterie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Out of a Suitcase, USA
    #6
    Thank you so much for the input! That is exactly what I needed to do!
     
  7. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #7
    this should be a sticky. I can't believe how many times I myself have done this. And it very often shows up as a post in this sub forum.
     

Share This Page