jailbreaking and unlocking iphone 3GS

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Ilikeapples87, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. Ilikeapples87 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #1
    I dunno if this was posted somewhere before, but wanted to know if i jailbreak my phone does it run slower? i read it at some other website that talked bout cons about jailbreaking. what are the chances of me bricking my iphone with jailbreak? will i be able to simply restore everything and back-up through itunes?

    also is there another way to unlock the iphone without jailbreaking it? bcuz im planning to go to japan and wanted to just switch out the sim when i get there
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Theres another way to unlock by using a turbo-sim or simcard adapter without jailbreaking.
    The 3GS runs nice and fast jailbroken, I dont think you'll notice any slow downs depending on what you install on it.
    Yes you can always restore back anytime to original Iphone firmware thru itunes.
    You wont brick it even if you mess up.
     
  3. thor79 macrumors 6502

    thor79

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    If you run more stuff on the phone...it will run slower. Doing stuff like running SBSettings (which is a toggle panel that is always active but hidden) or using Backgrounder to run multiple applications...will make the phone operate slower. With the 3GS the difference is minimal due to being a faster phone with more memory. On the 3G though I found after 3.0 that jailbreaking just wasn't worth it as it made the 3G just run too slow for my tastes. Love my 3GS jailbroken though.

    I have honestly never heard of someone having the phone bricked as a result of jailbreaking or unlocking...so long as the phone is still operating normally...you can get it into restore mode to restore back to factory firmware. I've had a couple of times where I did that to my 3G. It is possible to screw up the phone making it impossible to use it as a phone, if you try unlocking it on the wrong baseband....but if you follow the dev team's instructions you should be safe.
     
  4. Ilikeapples87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
  5. Ilikeapples87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #5
    ok, so i have jailbroken my phone and i wanted to unlock it as well, will i still be able to use the att sim and their plan even if its unlocked? i just wanted to unlock it for my future trip to japan or anywhere else
     
  6. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #7
    I disagree with SBSettings causing the phone to run slower. I have seen no evidence of this. Backgrounder slowing things down seems logical. If anything, using the "free memory" function on SBSettings should help things to run faster.
     
  7. Frege macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #8
    Could someone give more information on unlocking without jailbreak. How does TurboSim work? If a problem arises with your iPhone, can it be re-locked before taking into Apple (so as not to void the warranty).
     
  8. johnnyxhuynh macrumors regular

    johnnyxhuynh

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    #9
    You can always restore to the original firmware prior to taking it in or sending it on for service. That should essentially "re-lock" your phone.
     
  9. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    No way to unlock without jailbreak except by turbosim.

    Take turbosim out, walk into Apple store.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Its a simcard adapter that tricks the phone to thinking that you're using an AT&T sim or supported sim.
    All you gotta do is take out the turbo sim adapter and its back to normal.


     
  11. Frege macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #12
    OK, I see how these work. Is TurboSim OK with a 3GS/3.0?
     
  12. johnnyxhuynh macrumors regular

    johnnyxhuynh

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    #13
    The TurboSIM is a thin device placed on TOP of your existing SIM card.
     
  13. Frege macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #14
    I see on the web that there is a big price differential in TurboSims and that some require cutting the sim card. Do these all work equally well? Any recommendations of TurboSim that work reliably and preferably don't require card cutting?
     

Share This Page