Jailbreaking and using "bossprefs" to shut down EDGE.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by igmolinav, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. igmolinav macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    I am living in México and I am using my iPhone here with a prepaid card. However, I noticed, most undesiredly, that EDGE can sometimes turn itself on. In order to be able to turn EDGE off, somebody recommended me to "jailbreak" and then use "bossprefs".

    To be honest with you, I got really scared when the person said "jailbreak". I have pawned my iPhone in the past. I just don't want to mess up my phone. Is there a way that you would recommend me in order to be able to shut down EDGE ??

    Thank you very much, kind regards,

    igmolinav.
     
  2. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #2
    Go to this website in safari on your iPhone
    http://www.unlockit.co.nz/

    Chose Disable Data (FakeAPN)

    It should block data usage until you delete it in your system preferences menu.
     
  3. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3
    Hi,

    Thank you very much : ) !!! I have just download it and installed it to my iPhone. I went outside my home where no Wi-Fi signal could be reached by the iPhone. The little "E" started to show in the display. Then I double-clicked on safari and it got blocked. So it is working, that is very cool : ) !!!

    Thank you again, kind regards,

    igmolinav.
     
  4. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    You can just change the APN to something useless, and that should block data access with EDGE.

    Wi-FI should still work fine.
     
  5. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5
    Hi,

    What do you mean by changing the APN to something useless ??

    Thank you again, kind regards,

    igmolinav.
     
  6. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #6
    Its the same idea as what I proposed, except you need to tweak the settings instead of the website doing it for you.

    The best thing about that website is that you can always delete this setting and then you can use edge again.
     
  7. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #7
    Hi,

    Thank you again : ) !!! I did what you told me the first time you posted.
    Should I do something additional to it.

    Very kind regards,

    igmolinav.
     

Share This Page