Apple TV Jailbreaking ATV

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rrmoore73, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. rrmoore73 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Ok, I'm going to tackle the jailbreak this evening. I'm close to a Best Buy. Do I need purchase anything there for the jailbreak? Zip drive, etc?..
    Thanks!
     
  2. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    You will need a micro USB cable + apple tv. Also get a hdmi cable. You may be better getting a cheap one at Walmart for $10. It's called Onn, I believe. The HDMI cable isn't needed for the jailbreak, though.
     
  3. Spencie macrumors regular

    Spencie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    The Mothership
    #3
    Yup. All you need to jailbreak is a micro USB cable, ATV, and an HDMI cable. You may already have a micro USB cable, looks like this.


    [​IMG]
     
  4. rrmoore73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #4
    Thanks

    Thanks for the advice so far...

    Any advice?.....The insructions say,"Once the light on the front of the AppleTV begins to flash rapidly, point the remote at the AppleTV and hold both the MENU and PLAY/PAUSE buttons for 7 seven seconds."

    The light on the front never came on or blinked rapidly after plugging it in. It blinks if I hold the buttons, but then nothing happens?....








     
  5. PhoenixMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #5
    what are you doing to jailbreak? I chose season pass and they have step by step instructions.
     
  6. rrmoore73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #6
    yes, im using Seaonpass.
    I downloaded it and I got to ther part in the step by step where it says to plug in the computer to the ATV, from there nothing happens..






     
  7. Spencie macrumors regular

    Spencie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    The Mothership
    #7
    Don't have the ATV plugged into power or hdmi.
     
  8. rrmoore73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #8
    i dont....
    just plugged the micro into the ATV when prompted....

     
  9. Vikingobsessed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    south dakota
    #9
    Same thing happened to me a

    couple of weeks ago when doing mine. Against the directions, I plugged my ATV2 into the outlet AND the computer. Kind of seemed like it didn't have enough power coming through the computer to complete the JB. Then it magically worked. Don't know if that helps or not...was a tip that worked for me on a previous forum.
     
  10. rrmoore73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #10
    great

    funny, I was thinking the same thing but was trying to stick to the instructions.
    That said, it worked!!

    Onto the next step...

    :)


     
  11. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #11
    You can try restoring ATV2 back into factory setting using the on-screen menu. One of my ATV2's had issues with going into DFU mode and it worked after I restored.
     
  12. rrmoore73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #12
    sheesh

    ok, so I finally got the 'menu' and 'play' thing to work.
    Now im getting an error via itunes, that the ATV could not restore because of system error 1602.

    Any ideas?.....:(


     
  13. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #13
    I got that the first time I tried to Jailbreak my ATV2. I restored it in iTunes and tried to jailbreak it again - success!
     

Share This Page