Jailbreaking Older iPhone that has been Factory Reset, No SIMM Card

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by PointMan2, Sep 13, 2010.

1. PointMan2 macrumors newbie

As my subject states, I have an older iPhone (not sure how old, only know it's an 8 gig), that has been factory reset. I want to jailbreak it, I have the newest version of ZiPhone and have tried that with no luck. Can someone out there point me to a step-by-step or walk me through the process? Keep in mind of course, I have no SIMM card at all. Thanks everyone.

2. PointMan2 thread starter macrumors newbie

Sorry if this has come up before and I missed it, or like something that seems blatantly simple to you guys, but I am a complete noob to iPhones and the jailbreak process. This phone was given to my cousin, but before it was, the guy did a factory reset on it. She hasn't picked up a SIM card for it yet, I thought I would try to help her out a little on the process. Little did I know how much of a pain it was going to be, I truly do appreciate any help you folks can offer.

3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

So you said it's the original iPhone with the metal back?

4. PointMan2 thread starter macrumors newbie

No, sorry, that was an assumption on my part. It has a black back and is a 16 gig, not 8. Sorry about the misinformation.

5. PointMan2 thread starter macrumors newbie

The model number is A1303 if that helps. If you need anything else let me know, I have it here in front of me.

6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

Ok so you want to jb and unlock it? You're not using it on official carrier and no simcard to activate it either?

7. Rajani Isa macrumors 65816

Rajani Isa

As long as the OS isn't 4.0.2 or 4.1, try www.jailbreakme.com - visit there on your iThing.

8. PointMan2 thread starter macrumors newbie

Correct

9. PointMan2 thread starter macrumors newbie