Jailbreaking without the power/lock button

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by pedroistheman, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. pedroistheman macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #1
    Mine is broken. is it possible to use quickpwn or any other program without the lock button? the main reason i need to jailbreak is so I can use quicklock to lock the screen without the button
     
  2. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #2
    You will have to give more information about your phone before people in the forum can help you out.

    Which phone do you have? 2g, 3g, 3gs, iphone4
    firmware version?
     
  3. pedroistheman thread starter macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
  4. labman, Feb 25, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011

    labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #4
    I'm pretty sure there is no way to put a iphone or Ipod in DFU mode without the power and home buttons. think your going to have to get it repaired.

    wait with a 3G you could downgrade too 4.1 and then use jailbreakme.com or any jailbreak that doesn't require DFU
     
  5. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #5
    Jailbreakme.com doesn't work for 4.1. he/she can downgrade it to 3.1.3 and jailbreak it with spirit or jailbreakme.com. 3.1.3 works best for 3G anyway.
     
  6. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #6
    your correct my bad I don't know what I was thinking..
     
  7. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #7
    I am sure you know what you are talking about. Just sometime we type too fast, we put down thing we did not mean to. :)
     
  8. No ice please macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    #8
    Either it's just me or the 3.1.3 jailbreak w/jailbreakme.com is broken. It installs cydia but the whole phone becomes unusable after a reboot. I did multiple DFU restores a received the same result.
     
  9. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #9
    I just used yesterday and it is fine. If it is not working now, then just use spirit which is also very simple with 1 click operation.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Yep, what Crystal-RX said.
    Try Spirit on 3.1.3 or go down to 3.1.2 and use blackrain maybe.
    Anything 4.0 and higher you will need to use the power button if jailbreakme doesnt work.
     
  11. pedroistheman thread starter macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #11
    Ok, great. I've only jailbreaked a couple times, but I believe I have used jailbreakme.com in the past so hopefully that will work.

    Only issue now is how to downgrade to 3.1.3
     
  12. noiceT macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Catalina Wine Mixer
    #12
    Just download the ipsw and shift restore in itunes.

    Btw, isn't it pretty difficult without a power button? maybe you should just get it fixed or sell it and upgrade~
     
  13. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #13
    I concur with Applejuiced that if you don't have a AT&T sim handy. It is better to downgrade it down to 3.1.2 and use blackra1n. Spirit & Jailbreakme.com can only work when the phone is activated/showing up with the home screen.
     
  14. pedroistheman thread starter macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #14
    okay, so I have done some research and so far all the guides I have found for downgrading have involved putting the phone in DFU mode (which is impossible without a lock button). Can I downgrade by just downloading 3.1.3 and custom restoring? I was under the impression that the process of downgrading involved other steps?
     
  15. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #15
    Even your iphone IOS is the newest one. You still be able to restore/downgrade it to lower firmware because it is 3G. Just hook it up to Itunes, press shift + restore and point it to the IOS you want to restore.

    Since you downgrading, please make sure to have tiny umbrella ready because Itunes will give you a 1015 error. Just open tiny umbrella and hit "kick device out of recovery".
     
  16. pedroistheman thread starter macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #16
    Okay, so I just started the restore process and gonna try the shift+restore method with the 3.1.3 software. Could you specify what you mean about the "tiny umbrella"? No idea what you're talking about. thanks
     
  17. pedroistheman thread starter macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #17
  18. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #18
  19. pedroistheman thread starter macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #19
    awesome, thanks. I am now running the restore with the old software, and have tiny umbrella open.

    do I click "enter recovery" or "exit recovery" once the error message comes up?
     
  20. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #20
    Exit recovery!
     
  21. pedroistheman thread starter macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #21
    Ok so the phone is successfully jailbroken and running on 3.1.3.

    Last question: when i sync with itunes, can I use my backup from 4.2.1 or do I have to setup as a new phone?
     

Share This Page