Jailbreaking, worth it?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by EHLIF3, Dec 26, 2009.

1. EHLIF3 macrumors newbie

I have been anticipating on getting an itouch for almost 6 months now and couldnt wait to jailbreak it.
    This xmas I finally got it.
    However, right now im in the process of restoring my itouch for the 4th time today!
    To me, jailbreaking an itouch is more of a nuisance then anything. By jailbreaking, i had ONLY one benefit, and that was be being able to organize certain apps in folders. Which to me, isnt worth it. SO, unless someone can convince me another wise, or able to point my errors, Im never going to jailbreak again.

(Heres a little background info)
    I am on firmware 3.1.2.
    The itouch was recently purchased & is a 8g(not exactly sure which generation).
    On youtube, i learned how to get "all sources" on cydia.
    However, well downloading i would get constant error pop-ups.
    For example "posix: invaild argument".
    These errors would not only pop up for the "all sources" download, but with almost EVERY download i made. Many downloads which weren't able to be completed.
    It would eventually get to the point where my itouch would crash&need to be restored.
    The scary part is, each crash has been severely worse then the last.
    Im utterly disappointed that I am not able to access the benefits of a jailbroken ipod, but my question to you is, is it really worth it for me to try to jailbreak again?

2. Stratnsc macrumors newbie

Well...

it would be very beneficial for you to find out what generation it is... and what program are you using to jailbreak??

3. adamerr macrumors 6502a

adamerr

OP is using an 8GB model.
    I'm fairly sure there isn't a 3G 8GB iPod Touch model.
    So, OP is using a 2nd Gen model.

4. EHLIF3 thread starter macrumors newbie

I was using blackra1n.
    Do you think i would get better result with a different program?

5. yayitsezekiel macrumors 6502a

yayitsezekiel