Jailbreakme.com not Working

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by kingkunal, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. kingkunal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #1
    I have a 32 GB 3Gs. I go to JailBreakMe.Com from my iPhone browser. When I swipe, the browser crashes and closes by it's self. I tried restarting the phone, hard and soft and nothing. It is a new bootroom. Any ideas why it is crashing? If not, anyone know how to Jailbreak it? Thanks.
     
  2. Tomple macrumors 6502a

    Tomple

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    New York, New York
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    You try clearing you cookies, history and cache?
    Close down all safari pages, restart and give it another shot.
     
  5. kingkunal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #5
    Shoot, sorry didn't even say my iOS. Running 4.0.

    Cleared everything. Then closed all the pages. Reset the phone, still crashes the Safari. It just closes.

    Any ideas? Or alternatives?

    BTW, I am doing this for a friend. I have an iPhone 4, so my SIM won't fit in it. The phone I am doing it on has no SIM card in it. I am still connected to WIFI so I don't think that would matter.
     
  6. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #6
    I had the same problem on Sunday. I had downgraded my iOS from 4.1 to 4.0. It turned out I had downgraded to the GM copy of 4.0 and jailbreakme.com would not work. The browser would close like you are saying here. Do this only if you know the SHSH blobs are saved in Cydia for 4.0.

    Go back and download 4.0 again here.
     
  7. JoshBoy macrumors 6502

    JoshBoy

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    Restore

    Restore to 4.0 and try again with a fresh phone. (be sure to restore with click restore)
     
  8. kingkunal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
    So if I download the 4.0 firmware and in iTunes click SHIFT+RESTORE and select the 4.0 firmware it will let me restore it to that? It won't come up with an unknown error message because 4.1 is available?
     
  9. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #9
    As long as you have the SHSH blobs saved in either Cydia or on your computer from using Umbrella, you can restore to 4.0. If the phone was never jailbroken before, the SHSH blobs are not saved anywhere and you will be forced to restore to 4.1.
     
  10. kingkunal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #10
    Nope, I don't think the phone has ever been JailBroken. Is there any other way to JB it?
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    on 4.0 only option is jailbreakme.com
    and since you dont have shsh's in order to restore it all you can do is wait for the 4.1 JB
     
  12. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #12
    No there isn't. jailbreakme.com was made just for 4.0 and I think 4.0.1. 4.0.2 was released just to get rid of the exploit that allowed the jailbreak so everything after contains the "fix" as well.

    I am pretty certain that your iPhone is running 4.0 GM because as I said above, I had the same exact thing happen with jaibreakme.com closing a second after sliding the slider. I had accidentally restored my iPhone to 4.0 GM and the jailbreak doesn't work on that. It did exactly what yours is doing.

    Does this phone that you have have an app called Game Center? Mine did and that was pulled from the official 4.0 release.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    That would explain it them.
    He might have the GM built installed.
     
  14. mlts22 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #14
    I'm thinking the OP's best solution, if he has SHSH blobs saved with Cydia (and this is the key, no SHSH blobs, don't try), is to DFU restore to 4.0 or 4.0.1, or a version that blobs are present, then try.

    Of course, setting up as a new phone is mandatory.
     
  15. kingkunal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #15
    Man this sucks. Yeah I have that GameCenter app. The thing is, I don't want to risk it and attempt to put 4.0 on it or 4.0.1 and the only way I can fix the phone is to upgrade to 4.1. I hear that it may permantely block your phone from being JB. (read it on the iPhone Dev Team blog)
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    No it Won't block anything.
    U can update to 4.1 and wait for the new jb.
     

Share This Page