JailBroken 1.1.2 on a PPC based Mac? ANYONE?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by lostngone, Nov 14, 2007.

  1. lostngone macrumors demi-god

    lostngone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage
    #1
    Has anyone gotten the 1.1.2 JailBreak software(./osx) to work on a PPC based Mac? From reading other threads it sounds like this is reason a lot of people are having problems.

    The error I get is.

    "Cannot connect to your device"
     
  2. Nautigar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #2
    Same here

    Same here. I started a similar thread yesterday, but no response so far unfortunately.

    Regards, Matthias.
     
  3. patricklanc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #3
    same here. I stated with an unlocked 1.1.1 and installed the OktoPrep in my touch. Then I upgrade to 1.1.2 and failed with running ./osx in Jailbreak 1.1.2

    I am ppc based mac too, and run iTune 7.5, is there anything help?
     
  4. rgart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #4
    i have your problem, and same Nautigar in my thread ther isn't answers...

    I have ibook G4 and when i write ./osx in the terminal to appears that ipod is not connect....

    :(


    IMHO the file java for Jailbreak 1.1.2 run ONLY in windows pc :eek:
     
  5. jepaz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Just wait until touchdev comes up with an updated jar file to work with PPC.

    To summarize, the jailbreak 1.1.2 DOES NOT WORK with PPC yet.

    Carry on.:apple:
     
  6. TonyHoyle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    I did it, but did it manually instead.

    Since you have osx you have an advantage that windows users don't have - direct access to the iphone/itouch image.

    Try something like http://www.iphonealley.com/news/unofficial-1-1-2-jailbreak-instructions - start at 'jailbreak' step 6 (since you already have iphuc as iphuc.ppc)

    If you're on an iphone need to activate (replace lockdownd) do it whilst you have the disk mounted, and make sure the permissions are correct on it before putting back on the phone. (not required for touch).

    If you screw up you still have the dmg file to play around and try again, just don't uninstall oktoprep until you're happy with it.

    btw. I always start from iphone images for the touch as it means you have all the iphone apps already installed and working. Just run http://www.nodomain.org/frankenfirmware.zip and it creates an iphone based image that will install on the touch.
     
  7. jepaz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  8. rgart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #8
    but the link of TonyHoyle is for iphone...

    if jepaz have sucessful whiz touch in ppc can explain to us as it has made?

    :D
     
  9. deepblue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #9
    Very interesting because I only need Apple iPhone Apps, but running the Frankenfirmware it ends with some errors on permissions and with an ipsw image of 320MB that, when used with iTunes, generates an error 1.

    What stops the generation of the correct image?

    Eventually can you upload somewhere that iPhone sw already fixed?

    Thank you :)
     
  10. deepblue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #10
  11. deepblue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #11
    I've a little fear of what an sh command like those contained in the FRANKENFIRMWARE scripts can do to a Mac Os X system.

    Can someone tranquilize me about it?
     
  12. deepblue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #12
    Ok, I fixed the errors with frakenfirmware and I was able to create the hybrid image but I'm still unlucky with the complete jailbreak. All the manual steps go right but I end up with a "regular" iPod without INSTALLER among apps.

    :(
     
  13. Nautigar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #13
    Same problem here when I try the manual jailbreak ... (on a PPC Mac).
     
  14. TonyHoyle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    Two ways:

    1. Edit N45AP.plist to include installer.app
    2. Put ssh on your image, ssh in, run it manually.

    I'm not sure why that guide says it appears automatically.. that would never normally be true. It was just the first simple guide I found on google.

    You won't see an new apps like mail etc. until you either run springpatch (which is shipped along with the jar file) or install summerboard (or indeed add using customize.app, but that doesn't work so well on the touch apparently).

    btw. N45AP.plist edit is (just in case google doesn't come up with the goods):
     
  15. TonyHoyle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    Apple's lawyers would descend on me from a great height if I tried that..

    The script is simple enough - unzip both firmwares, copy various files around, patch the manifest, rezip the new image.
     
  16. Nautigar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #16
    Thanks

    This sounds very logical, I'll give it a try tonight. Thank you!

    Matthias.
     
  17. jepaz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    Editing the N45AP.plist is the one I missed doing last night, darn. Will do another manual jailbreaking tonight.
     
  18. Nautigar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #18
    Tried the first. No success. Installer does not show.

    For the second: Where do I get ssh, and in what folder should I put it?

    Thanks in advance,

    Matthias
     
  19. Nautigar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #20
  20. Nautigar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #21

Share This Page