Jailbroken 1.1.3 iPhone -- Maps locator doesn't work

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rogersmj, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #1
    I'm on my freshly jailbroken 1.1.3 iPhone. I had not upgraded prior to today; I was running jailbroken 1.1.2. The patch and upgrade went smoothly, and I have all the new features except the locator function in Maps doesn't work. When I press the button it just sits there and spins. I let it go for at least a couple minutes and nothing happened. Has anyone else experienced this? I'm not sure if it's related to the jailbreak or not.
     
  2. LukeHarrison macrumors regular

    LukeHarrison

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Selby, UK
    #2
    It's to do with the baseband (modem firmware). The current 1.1.3 jb leaves it on the 1.1.2 baseband, which means that the Google Maps locator doesn't work. DON'T, however, try downgrading if it's a 1.1.2 OTB, or you'll run into lots of problems, like myself and a few others on the forums have done so far.
     
  3. brando88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #3
    Install Navizon GPS, and run it once... It should restore all functionality to Google Maps!

    Enjoy!
     
  4. wrboyce macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #4
    I believe you can do a full upgrade to 1.1.3 (including new baseband firmware), then do a soft-downgrade to 1.1.2 (so the baseband remains at 113), jailbreak, then repeat the 113 Jailbreak soft-upgrade/jailbreak routine and you /should/ be away.

    Good luck
     
  5. hidehide macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    #5
    If he upgraded the baseband, he wont be able to use other carrier except AT&T..
     
  6. rogersmj thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #6
    Cool, that's what I'll do then. I assume a restore in iTunes is what I need to get me the full 1.1.3 firmware? I'm off to hunt for downgrade instructions...I actually should be downgrading to 1.1.1, I believe, shouldn't I? Because that's how jailbreakme.com works.

    That's fine, I only use AT&T.
     
  7. rogersmj thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #7
    Well, poop. I did a real 1.1.3 upgrade, and now I can't go back down. There's not a lot of detailed information yet, but just like LukeHarrison said it appears that people with 1.1.2 OTB (what I had, purchased in mid-December) can't downgrade using the option-click method in itunes or the iPhuc copyfiletophone method.

    And, right AFTER I upgrade to 1.1.3, I read Brando88's comment about Navigon GPS...DAMNIT! I clicked that "take me to first unread post" button and I trusted it, and I missed his comment! This is what I get for doing things early in the morning when I'm not quite awake. I guess I have to live with 1.1.3 until someone figures out how to downgrade a 1.1.2 OTB.
     
  8. Robk732 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    #8
    i'm right there with you lol
     
  9. rogersmj thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #9
    Actually, I just got my phone jailbroken on 1.1.3 last night following the guide posted yesterday in this forum. I wasn't entering the right restore mode...the iPhuc method does not work, but the Option-Click way does.
     
  10. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #10
    I can't find Navizon on installer anymore. It's gone. Wow.
     
  11. ckim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #11
    Hi Mrogers. Did this fix the location feature of Google Maps for you?

    I woke up this morning and upgraded to 1.1.3 for some reason. Same boat you were in. =b
     
  12. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #12
    If you upgraded to 1.1.3 through iTunes, then used ZiPhone or iJailbreak, everything should work...
     
  13. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #13
    +1 for not having locate me work.

    I just used iJailbreak yesterday on a new 16g 1.1.3
     
  14. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #14
    Installed Navizon and Locate me works like a charm. Thanks guys!
     
  15. ckim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #15
    I upgraded to 1.1.3, then downgraded to 1.1.1, Oktoprepped, upgraded to 1.1.2, touch-free jailbreaked, then soft-upgraded to 1.1.3.

    Everything works now.

    Previously, I hadn't used iTunes to upgrade to 1.1.3; therefore my broadband was at 1.1.2. I'm not positive, but I'm guessing that this might have been the problem.
     

Share This Page