Jailbroken 3G Keep Losing 3G Data Connection!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Ysulyan, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. Ysulyan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #1
    Used QuickPwn 2.1 for Windows, everything worked fine for a day, then 3G connections keeps dropping now, even making voice phone calls/receiving phone calls became flaky, sometimes outgoing calls can not be made, neither receiving calls. WIFI works fine.

    I don't recall which Cydia app installed was causing this, but these are all I installed:
    1. Winterboard
    2. OpenSSH
    3. BossPrefs (does this ring a bell??)
    4. Dock Prefs
    5. Cycorder
    6. buch of themes for winterboard
    7. MobileInstallation cracked
    8. iLog 2.1
    9. FieldRunner ipa

    Anybody had the same problem? Any insight will help!!

    Thanks a bunch!
     
  2. jlake02 macrumors 68020

    jlake02

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    L.A.
    #2
    I've never had that issue. Maybe try reinstalling everything?

    Did you have any issues pre-JB? I'm assuming not.
     
  3. Ysulyan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #3
    Never had that issue pre-JB. I'm re-doing JB, will post result.
    thanks.
     
  4. Ysulyan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #4
    Re JBed, everything's fine now.
    will install BossPrefs see what happens..
     
  5. brendanryder macrumors 6502a

    brendanryder

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary
    #5
    im so glad i wasnt the only one!!!!
    i was freaking out, i DFU'ed and jailbreaked almost 10 times and then yesturday morning before i headed out to rogers/apple to take it back it worked!

    i had no clue what the problem was but we both had the problem on the same day.

    Where bouts are you from/what carrier are you on.
     
  6. Ysulyan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #6
    same as you Bro, it's quite possible that rogers was having some system wide glitch which caused our havoc, probably has nothing to do with my re-JB..but I'm glad things are working now..
    It's hard to blame any particular 3rd party app was causing this.
    The only thing I'm hesitated to install now is BossPrefs...which I might try just for the the heck of curiosity.
     
  7. brendanryder macrumors 6502a

    brendanryder

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary
    #7
    dont worry about JB apps, it was deffinaty a rogers problem because i had restored my iPhone twice to regular mode and nothing would work. so it had nothing to do with a jailbreak it just so happens that we had JB iPhones when the problem happened .:)
     
  8. Ysulyan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #8
    somehow the problem is happening to me again now. my friend's vanila iphone had no problem at all though.

    I'm thinking of doing a backup restore see what happens.
    thoughts?
     
  9. brendanryder macrumors 6502a

    brendanryder

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary
    #9
    call rogers.
    lol, i talked to my friends at school at 1 out of 6 kids i know with iphones had the problem.

    imine is still working
     
  10. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #10
    That is weird, but then again you guys are dealing with "The Big R!" I've done the JB with my 2.1 FW on AT&T on my 16GB 3G iPhone and I've had no problems...;)
     
  11. Ysulyan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #11
    :D call rogers?:rolleyes::rolleyes: they'll say re pwn it..lol
    it's strange enough that it's working on and off..you turn airplane mode on/off or reboot sometimes it works sometimes not.
    never had this issue before JB.
    doing a DFU restore see what happens
     
  12. brendanryder macrumors 6502a

    brendanryder

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary
    #12
    no it has nothing to do with having a jailbreak!!!
    i got the problem when it was and when it wasn't jailbroken.

    and its only happening to a few people that why i said to call rogers.
     
  13. Ysulyan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #13
    it's more and more confirmed that way..it was the network problem..cuz i could easily toggle 3g on/off to make it working...
    i'll talk to more people to confirm this.
     
  14. bigkali95 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #14
    Only jailbroken, not unlocked? People report that with some unlock cards you get that problem sometimes. I bought mine a month ago and never lost the 3G connection. I bought it here http://unlockediphone.info
     

Share This Page