jailbroken 3GS goes to recovery mode after reboot.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by aaronstephen, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. aaronstephen macrumors newbie

    aaronstephen

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    #1
    Ok I bought an iPhone 3gs 16gb yesterday. it was jailbroken and unlocked when I bought it. after installing some apps I decided to reboot. when the phone turned back on it went into recovery mode. I didn't know what to do and kinda panicked since I am a real newb to the jailbroken iphone world. so I decided to restore the iphone. I downloaded blackra1n and jailbroke the iphone. but I wanted to see if I could reboot without it going into recovery mode again. nope samething happened again. so I jailbroke again. is this normal? what should I do to prevent this from happening again? also I have not unlocked the phone yet. I have only jailbroken it as I don't care to use the iphone with any cellular service just with skype. is this ok to not unlock the phone after jailbreaking? thanks for your help.
     
  2. noah82 macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    You have a tethered jailbreak. There are countless threads telling you what this is.
     
  3. aaronstephen thread starter macrumors newbie

    aaronstephen

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    #4
    thanks for the link. very helpful in understanding what is going on. so should I be ok? just whenever I need to reboot just jailbrake again? should I be worried about anything?
     
  4. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    You are not re-jailbreaking each time. Your jailbreak, installed apps, and all your customizations remain in place. All you are doing is using a computer to force your phone to boot.

    Be aware that some apps and updates in Cydia will require a reboot on installation. Other than that, don't let your battery run out and you should be fine.
     
  5. aaronstephen thread starter macrumors newbie

    aaronstephen

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
  6. lilskaterpunk macrumors regular

    lilskaterpunk

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #7
    Thanks for the info too! Helped me out :)

    I needed to send my 3GS from original release date to Apple for a new one as it crapped out! :( So now new 3GS with new bootrom, not much I can do...
    Give it time and a non-tathered JB soon be released.
     
  7. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #8
    mite i also mention, that you need credit to use skype like a prepaid cell phone, and you also need to be connected to a wifi network. i suggest just getting a go phone plan from at&t so that u have ur phone anywhere. also, i too had a tethered jailbreak. if it was my ipod, okay, whatever i dont care if i have to run blackra1n once in a while. but this was my phone, i mean, if im in an emergency, i cant call 911. so i restored it and im gonna wait till another 24kpwn exploit appears, or i think theyll be naming it 128kpwn. and i suggest you do the same. i mean i few themes and cool extra features isnt worth risking your life when you need to call the police.
     
  8. aaronstephen thread starter macrumors newbie

    aaronstephen

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
  9. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    3G Unrestrictor will let you use Skype over 3G.

    How could you possibly know what someone's going to name an undiscovered exploit? You realize that they called it 24kpwn because the crash allowed them to arbitrarily overwrite 24kb of data, right? Besides, whoever finds it will really be the one who names it.
     
  10. kennyluke1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    #11
    3g unrestrictor installation problem

    hi all. i installed 3g unrestrictor (cracked) thru sinfuliphonerepo--Cydia---blackra1n--- in my 3gs 3.1.2..the problem is, after installing the 3g unrestrictor, it requires me to reboot the iphone. after clicking REBOOT PHONE, the apple logo appears and then the USB cord showing to plug in itunes (recovery mode). This would result to restoring my iphone, and erasing all applications already installed. So I would repeat the process of installing all applications all over again. I repeated the process 3 times now and the same thing happens..after installing 3g unrestrictor, it asks for REBOOT,etc.etc..does anybody encounter the same problem? or did i miss something during the installation process. by the way, i bought my iphone here in qatar, where it is factory sim-unocked (legally).need help.thank you very much.
     
  11. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    Sounds like you have a tethered jailbreak. Did you not read any of the other posts in this thread ? If so, your question would have been answered.
     
  12. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #13
    1) Did you read the thread I linked the OP to? It should answer your questions.

    2) Don't steal apps. Buy 3G Unrestrictor from the Cydia store.
     
  13. kennyluke1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    #14
    thanks for your reply...i will read previous thread..sorry if i used cracked version, i actually tried purchasing the app via cydia but i encountered problem purchasing since they don't recognize my credit card info in this country..best regards.
     
  14. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #15
    My reply had nothing what-so-ever to do with 3G Unrestrictor....

    My response was about when your phone doesn't reboot by itself it is because you have a tethered jailbreak.

    Rerun Blackra1n instead of keep restoring the phone.
     
  15. RTHino71 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #16
    re-jailbreaking with blackra1n

    ok so i had blackra1n installed on my iphone and i installed cydia and it worked fine for a few months. then cydia stop working. i would open it then it would just close again. its been like that for a few weeks. i tried to uninstall cydia but i cant do it through blackra1n. so i just uninstalled blackra1n and tried reinstalling it. everthing went fine but the blackra1n icon does not show up on my iphone. ive done this 3 times and still no icon

    so if there is anyone that can tell this newb(me being the newb) how to fix this problem or shed some light on what i messed up on i would be most grateful

    thank you
     
  16. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    Restore your phone to official Apple IPSW, then go to the DevTeam blog (Google it) and use Redsn0w 0.9.2 to JB your phone.

    You will be much happier.
     
  17. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #18
    If your phone is already jailbroken, re-running blackra1n from your computer won't do anything. Blackra1n will see that you've already jailbroken and will do nothing.

    If you have SSH, iFile or MobileTerminal installed, I've seen a lot of people have luck following the procedure recommended in this post. If that doesn't work, I'm afraid you may have to restore, as dhlizard said.
     
  18. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #19
    If only any of those "fixes" would have worked for me. Sigh

    Oh well, the restore/re-JB is behind me and I am 100% right now ! :D
     

Share This Page