JailBroken 3GS to 3.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Alexwithad, Sep 9, 2009.

  1. Alexwithad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #1
    I'm doing it, going in guns blazing. Not even erasing any of the jail break stuff. I'll tell you if it works. I just have important text messages that I cannot lose among other stuff with a restore as new. So far it seems to be going good. *Knock on wood* I'll be posting an update soon
     
  2. matts1501 macrumors member

    matts1501

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Mpls
    #2
    i am very interested to see what happens. i was considering doing the same. thanks for being a pioneer
     
  3. Alexwithad thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #3
    I got an error when doing it, and it was put into DFU mode, then restored from back up and bam it works 3.1
     
  4. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #4
  5. Alexwithad thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #5
  6. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Can you MMS now?
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    I wouldn't expect to see that until Sept 25th.
     
  8. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #8
    Wow..., people 3.1 has NOTHING to do with MMS. MMS will be made available via a carrier update that AT&T will roll out. It's been said a hundred times already.
     
  9. HighLife420 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #10
    so did the jail break work? or just 3.1?
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #11
    I'm confused also as to whether he is 3.1 or JB with 3.1
     
  11. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Me too! OP, any clarification? Did you just run redsn0w on the 3.1.1 file? Or did you just upgrade to Vanilla 3.1.1?
     
  12. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #13
    I know this. It was just a question out of morbid curiosity. :D

    I realize that ATT isn't a company of (m)any surprises...

    Like "Hey, we tricked everyone, and said mms was going to be the 25th, but really it was the 9th." :rolleyes:
     
  13. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
  14. DN7335 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #15
    No JB for 3.1 yet, he went from a JB 3.0.1 to vanilla 3.1 iPhone.
     
  15. egk69 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #16
    well he said , he didnt deleted any of the jailbreak stuff or anything and then he said "bam it works 3.1"

    I guess he is talking about a JB 3.1




    so


    Pics or Vid or it didnt happened!!
     
  16. polysaturate macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #17
    Ya, it def doesn't work to use redsnow 0.8 to jailbreak 3.1. I decided what the hell...can't hurt to try it right?

    Well..it didn't hurt. It will load and inject the 3.0 ispw, but then it get's stuck on the reboot after the phone is "jailbroken".

    Force restart, then the phone loads as if nothing ever happened.

    *shrugs*
     
  17. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #18
    well again!

    from the horses mouth just give the Dev team a little time. take a chill pill! ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Alexwithad thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #19
    Ok for the people who do not understand my post. I went from having a jail broken phone on 3.0.1 to 3.1 NO JAIL BREAK. Nowhere did I mention thta I have a 3.1 jailbreak.
     
  19. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #20
    Thanks for clearing that up.
     
  20. zander271 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #21
    Ya i was a little confused also. :rolleyes:

    I've learned that it can take a little while for the jailbreak to be rolled out. I'm really crossing my fingers that an unlock comes for 3.1, I travel allot and use European SIM's. If it doesn't come I'm stuck with 3.0.1 or I need to dust off my 2g phone for when I travel.
     
  21. egk69 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
  22. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #23
    What are you "stuck" with?? 3.1 isn't really that compelling, is it? I don't think being able to arrange apps via a gui (which may or may not work with our jb icons) is such a big deal. I'm willing to wait a while as I love my jb apps!
     
  23. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #24
    Agreed. [​IMG] I would rather have my JB and wait for 3.1 than have 3.1 and have to wait for a JB.

    Hope that makes sense.
     
  24. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #25
    I can't stand a vanilla iphone.
     

Share This Page