jailbroken, but returned to stock for a trip to apple

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by calvy, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #1
    I have a question. I have used my 3g iPhone jailbroken from the day the dev team jailbroke it for us all. Recently though I've noticed some oddities with my iPhone. Signal has been weak, it is freqently searching for a signal. And the other day I had a huge blue dot in the middle of my screen that wouldn't go away, even across reboots. It did finally disappear. But I suspect hardware issues, and i want to take it into apple.

    Obviously, I don't want to take it in jailbroken, but I hear that they can get data from the phone that shows dropped call info and other stats. If I do a restore and set it up as a new phone, without restoring my backup, is that data going to be wiped out? Will they be curious why I've got no usage stats?
     
  2. iMeat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #2
    I would just tell them it was an attept to fix it.
     
  3. ryan42 macrumors 6502

    ryan42

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Near Houston, TX
    #3
    Any time I have taken a device (phone, iPod, computer) into Apple with the anticipation of having it worked on or replaced, it has been completely erased.

    Erasing/reformatting is a valid troubleshooting step. Your settings/applications on the phone can become corrupted, etc. They will not question you doing this one bit.

    If they do replace the phone, you don't have to worry about your personal information on the device.
     
  4. calvy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #4
    Ok, thanks for the advice all. I was mainly concerned because I hoped that my dropped call stats would remain after a restore. I want them to be able to see how many dropped calls I've had and perhaps that would persuade them that I did in fact need a replacement. We'll see though. I can't get into the store until tomorrow for an appointment.
     
  5. thestaton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #5
    I'm having the same problem as well after updating to 3.0 All your dropped calls, etc, are logged by AT&T and they can look them up.
     

Share This Page