Java broken with new update?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by legaleye3000, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. legaleye3000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #1
    Yesterday I was alerted to a new update for Java. I installed it and now JAVA doesn't work on this site I always use for work. Is this happening to anyone else? Any ideas on how to fix? Help please. Thanks.
     
  2. soloer macrumors 6502a

    soloer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha
    #2
  3. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #3
    That site works...

    I have rebooted a couple of times too... Just this one site for my work doesn't work anymore! :(
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    Java 7 Update 51 blocks all unsigned applets. You need to manually whitelist them in the Java control panel.
     
  5. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #5
    That worked! THANK YOU ! ! !

    Now if they would just add Chrome for compatibility....
     
  6. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #6
    That's up to Google, to make Chrome 64-bit
     
  7. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #7
    This sort of thing fills me with joy. I'm glad they're finally making it hard to use Java applets; hopefully this means companies will stop deploying them. They have always been a big security concern, don't work well on mobile devices, etc...

    Good riddance!

    I do hope you can fix your specific problem though. :)
     
  8. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #8
    Update 51 broke all sorts of stuff I use at work. After I figured out what they did, I had to add a bunch of exceptions to the security list on all of the clients on the network. What fun. :(
     
  9. tonysmith, Jan 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2014

    tonysmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    #9
    it blocked access to java's website as well on mine
    Its all well & good manually updating but how do you find the url i.e. http or whatever when nothing before www is shown?
     
  10. MacMan988 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    #10
    The update added a new file to the /Library/LaunchDaemons/ folder
     

Share This Page