Java desktop popup issue on Yosemite Beta

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by jktay791, Jul 24, 2014.

  1. jktay791 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #1
    I updated to the Yosemite Beta today and have a constant popup on my desktop that says "To view this web content, you need to install the Java Runtime Environmnet." I have downloaded and installed the latest JRE from Java but the pop up keeps coming back every 5 seconds and I'm about to throw my macbook through a window. Does anybody have any suggestions?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SCOLANATOR macrumors 6502a

    SCOLANATOR

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I wish I could help but I haven't encountered this problem after installing the beta today. What Mac do you have?
     
  3. jktay791 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #3
    MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2010) with a 2.66 Ghz Intel Core i7 and 8 GB of memory.
     
  4. wallydavid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    #4
  5. damnhandy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #5
    Why would you download the pre-release of Java 8 when the final release has been out since March? You can get it here:

    http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index-jsp-138363.html

    That should fix your problem. You're better off with the Oracle JRE anyway as Apple stopped making their JRE since 10.6 and the last version of Java Apple produced was version 1.6, which is full of security issues.
     
  6. woode macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #6
    I'm having the same issue, and I'm noticing it after my screen sleeps and I have to log back in, but at other times too.

    I don't want to install the JRE, because I don't know what's kicking off this message. That's the question for me: what is trying to run?
     
  7. myevilclone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #7
    I've been having the same issue. Even after updating it to Java 8, it still shows the popup. Don't know what it could be. Sent in Feedback Issue.
     
  8. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #8
    I uninstalled Java and then went to Oracle's website and installed the version they recommended. No change. Still getting that message.
     
  9. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
  10. sgoldenb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #10
    I installed Java 8 JDK (NOT the JRE) and solved the issue :) Wish this helps
     
  11. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #11
    Tried that. It said I had the wrong version of OS X.
     
  12. sgoldenb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
  13. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #13
    I just tried again. We'll see if it works. I also have PB1.
     
  14. sgoldenb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #14
    what shows if you type java on the terminal? Does it show that Java 8 is installed? Does Java 8 shows installed in the Java System Settings?
     
  15. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #15
    Java showed installed before and the pop up still showed up. Like I said, wait and see...
     
  16. sgoldenb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #16
    check from the terminal; if the terminal does not see JAVA means it is not fully installed. When I installed the JRE everythign looks installed but did not showed installed on the terminal. when I installed the JDK java listed in the terminal
     
  17. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #17
    It see's it in terminal, but since this is an intermittent problem, I will wait and see.
     
  18. sgoldenb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #18
    best of luck. sorry I was not of more help. If i find other solutions i will post it
     
  19. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #19
    Are you kidding? Yours was the most helpful thus far.
     
  20. JWD, Sep 7, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2014

    JWD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #20
  21. mozTom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #21
    I was getting this popup too, and I also get high CPU load from windowserver ONLY WHILE IN SCREENSAVER MODE. I just hear the fans whirr up and such. I was looking at console log because of one MacWorld post:

    http://www.macworld.com/article/1163410/bugs_and_fixes_when_os_x_lion_slows_to_a_crawl.html

    I saw that windowserver was getting the request to set something foreground, for installing java. I looked at the timestamp and thought, what else happens at that time, which would throw the java installer? Well! com.facebook.videochat.Tom.updater was running! I had my culprit, and so I searched duckduckgo for com facebook videochat updater os x. And up came this: http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os...ebook-video-chat-plugin-causing-problems.html

    Jackpot! Facebook videochat updater uses Java! That's what's running periodically. So...

    I don't know the service (well, I mentioned it above, but maybe there's others) so I did

    Code:
    launchctl list | grep facebook
    Two results: the com.facebook.videochat.Tom.updater and com.apple.facebook.xpc, which I think is fine. so. disabling that might fix it, and hopefully will fix my fans whirring up during the screensaver.

    (You NEED to do the list first since it will use your name or some variant thereof in the filename, so without doing the launchctl list you won't know it.)
     
  22. slenpree macrumors 6502a

    slenpree

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    thanks this helped me

    For me it was under /Users/_myname_/Library/Application Support/Facebook and I just deleted everything in there.
     
  23. vishl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #23
  24. T-Will macrumors 6502a

    T-Will

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #24
    Getting this message with the official Yosemite release. Just installed the JDK, let's hope that helps. :)
     
  25. Richdmoore macrumors 68000

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #25
    I am getting it too on the release Yosemite. It is driving me crazy.

    I tried to install the jre, but I will try the other one now.
     

Share This Page