Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

xfactor0707

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 5, 2009
Alright guys in in my first semester of college and im taking a java programming class. My first project is due sunday but my first file is not correct according to netbeans. can you guys please help me find the error. im still a noob with all this programming.

Code:
public class Employee
{
    private String employeename;
    private double salary,
                    bonus,
           salaryafterbonus;

Employee(String e, double s, double b)
    {
      employeename = e;
      salary = s ;
      bonus = b ;
    }
    public String getEmployeename()
    {
        return employeename;
    }
    public String getSalary()
    {
        return salary;
    }
    public String getBonus()
    {
        return bonus;
    }
    void calculate()
    {
        salaryafterbonus= salary + bonus;
    }
}

Im writing my test class now

xfactor0707

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 5, 2009
/Users/ebalari56/Desktop/Picture 1.png

Attachments

• Picture 1.png
    Picture 1.png
    698.6 KB · Views: 168

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
What is the type of "salary"? What is the type of "bonus"? What is the return type of "getSalary"? what is the return type of "getBonus"?

When i compile using javac from the command line, i get:
Code:
Employee.java:20: incompatible types
found   : double
required: java.lang.String
        return salary;
               ^
Employee.java:24: incompatible types
        return bonus;
               ^
2 errors

Should be pretty straightforward. java.lang.String has a valueOf function that takes a double, if you really want to return a java.lang.String. Otherwise, changing the return type of the functions is pretty straightforward.

-Lee