Java?????

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bowlman23, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. bowlman23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #1
    Is there a java package that works on Leopard? I only saw it for Tiger.

    Thanks.
     
  2. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #2
    It should already be installed in your OS X install. :)
     
  3. bowlman23 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #3
    I tried to go on a website on safari that uses Java and it doesn't work. Can anyone else try playing a game on www.nintendo8.com with Safari?

    It's a cool site. Has all the original nintendo games. Let me know if it works. It doesn't for me. It only has a coffee cup where the game screen should be. It works on FireFox, but not is Safari.
     
  4. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #4
    Yeah it works fine for me. Try going into safari then preferences then security tab. Then make sure Java is enabled.
     
  5. bowlman23 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #5
    I check it out and it is enabled. It's weird because the Java doesn't work on any web site that has it in Safari. However, I tried Opera and Firefox and it works fine.
     
  6. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    Is plugins enabled as well? Its installed if it works under firefox etc but for some reason its disabled in safari.
     
  7. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    haha what a cool site... thanks for the link... just verifying that it works fine with safari for me as well
     
  8. iJamie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
  9. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #9
    did you try checking to be sure it was enabled etc?
     
  10. iJamie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
  11. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #11
    Is the plugin box checked and does it work in firefox?
     
  12. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #12
    Doesn't work for me either - and I can play games etc on other websites that use Java.

    Odd.
     
  13. Mernak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    #13
    I tried 3 random games (on firefox) and couldn't play any of them, I think it may be because I do not have Java 6 because I am still on Tiger. It gives me these errors "load: class AppletGui not found. java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: AppletGui" and "Caused by: java.io.IOException: open HTTP connection failed." (with all of the line numbers that caused the errors) and same thing happens in Safari. Try updating to Java 6 if it gives you that option, and I would presume it would become default, but you can use Java Preferences (Applications>Utilities>Java) to make sure.
     
  14. iJamie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #14
    Yes the plugin box is ticked (all of the web content ones are)
    Also it does work in firefox
     
  15. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #15
    Have you installed the latest Java update that Apple just released via software update?

    Edit : All works fine in Safari for me.
     
  16. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #16
    The update only adds java 6, which is useless in safari anyway. :rolleyes:

    I just checked again and its not working for me. Last time i checked was awhile ago though.

    EDIT: for some reason its using version 1.5 Can anyone else confirm this? those who it works for what version is it using?
     
  17. iJamie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008

Share This Page