JB from 4.0.1 -> 4.1 keeping 1.59BB?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by h1r0ll3r, Jan 12, 2011.

1. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

h1r0ll3r

So a friend has asked me to JB his phone for him. He's never updated his phone since getting it so he still has a stock 4.0.1 on it with 1.59BB. He wants to go to 4.1 only (he really wants GameCenter for some reason:rolleyes:) while maintaining his BB for unlocking purposes.

Now, I just needed to see if I had the process for this correct prior to doing anything. If something is incorrect, let me know.

Initially, I'll use TU to grab his SHSH's.While leaving TU on in the background, I'll put the phone into DFU mode and then Option+Restore (I have a Mac) and select the 4.1 IPSW I have as the new OS. I've never done this before as I've only downgraded in the past so this process is a bit new to me.

I'm under the assumption that leaving TU running will keep the BB intact while still updating to 4.1 and then hit the Kick Me Out of Recovery to finish the process.

My other option was simply to use jailbreakme.com, let Cydia make my life easier and install ultrasn0w. Then do the updating process using TU running in the background but this process seems longer I think.

Is anything missing or is my process above flawed in any way?

Thanks.

2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

You are correct, assuming you're talking about an i4.

3. h1r0ll3r thread starter macrumors 68040

h1r0ll3r

4. Mhaddy macrumors 6502

Mhaddy

@OP: In a similar situation as you and will be following this tutorial to walk me through the process. GL!

5. h1r0ll3r thread starter macrumors 68040

h1r0ll3r

6. dylanursula macrumors 6502

Hey all, is there an Iclarified guide for Windows as per above for the Mac?
    My wife is JB on her iphone4, and I would like to upgrade her to 4.1 too.

Thanks

7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

Yes, assuming you have shsh's saved for her phone for firmware 4.1 right?