jb iphone, bye bye applecare??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Mad Mac Maniac, Jul 21, 2008.

1. Mad Mac Maniac macrumors 601

Mad Mac Maniac

A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    Ok, so if i were to jailbreak my iphone, what kind of repercussions would there be? Would I no longer get any support or sympathy from apple if I ever need anything?

If I were to jb i would DEFINITELY tether. I know you can be slapped with huge fees for that, but how can they really track you? Obviously if they see a lot of usage on ur iphone they could get suspicious, but how could they truly pin you down?

Does jailbreaking take any benefit in any way away from your iphone?

And I've heard it is possible to unjailbreak ur iphone... but could they tell they u had jailbroken it at one point? or would this be a loophole to get back applecare whenever you need it?

Thank you for your help, I'm new to this whole jb thing and I want to see if it's really worth it!

2. extraextra macrumors 68000

extraextra

If you're tethering, aren't you using AT&T's data? They know who is using data when... it shows up on your bill. I don't know if they can track whether or not you are tethering though, I've heard they can and I've heard they can't. :confused:

And I do believe that you can jailbreak and then restore it back if you want to have Apple fix it. They don't know if you've jailbroken it or not.

3. marksman macrumors 603

marksman

Might want to have an actual reason to jailbreak the phone.

Right now there is little software written for 2.0 JB and because of the appstore there will be a lot fewer applications available for jailbroken phones.

You can use both jailbreak and the appstore at the same time, but unless there is something you specifically need to jailbreak for, I wouldn't do it. Since there is almost no software out there for it right now, there is likely little reason for you to worry about it yet.