Apple TV JB Issue "device isn't eligible" error, please Help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by From A Buick 8, Jul 16, 2011.

  1. From A Buick 8, Jul 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2011

    From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #1
    I tried to JB with the PwnageTool but it kept giving me an error on the wrong bundle.

    Then i tried using Seas0nPass and it looked like it was going to work, took a few tries to get it into DFU mode, but after connecting the USB cable directly to my iMac it worked.

    But then iTunes gave me this Error.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. From A Buick 8 thread starter macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #2
    i am running iTunes 10.3.1 and the Atv is on 4.2.1 (4.3)
     
  3. ash06 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #3
    I am in the exact same scenario, keen for the solution! :)
     
  4. From A Buick 8 thread starter macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #4
    Good to hear it is not just me. I am going to give it another go wit h all other USB devices unplugged.
     
  5. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #5
    What build number of the firmware did you download? You have to make sure the build you downliad isn't older than the one that is currently on the AppleTV, that's what was wrong when I got the same error, so I found the proper build and redownloaded it and it went perfectly.
     
  6. From A Buick 8 thread starter macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #6
    Same error with Seas0onPass and with PwnageTool, i get an error that i have the wrong bundle.



    It then ask if i want to search for it and i do, the file it wants is "iPad, AppleTV 2G 4.1 ipsw" i find it and download it, but still no go.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. From A Buick 8 thread starter macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #7
    For which one, Seas0nPass or Pwnage tool
     
  8. From A Buick 8 thread starter macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #8
    Ok ii am giving up for the day on this.

    i have tried to use Seas0nPass, it downloads it's own file (AppleTV2,1_4.3_8F305_SP_Restore) and iTunes rejects with the "device isn't eligible" error.

    I am using Seas0nPass version 0.7.6 (73)

    PwnageTool has also be failing.
     
  9. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #9
    SeasonPass is what I used, and that's what I did to fix it.
     
  10. From A Buick 8 thread starter macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #10
    Do you mean the "right" build of seas0nPass, because it downloads the .ipsw.
     
  11. ash06 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #11
    Can anyone shed some light/had any success with these firmwares & iTunes 10.3.1?
    I curious to experience what xbmc on :apple:TV is like! :)
     
  12. From A Buick 8 thread starter macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #12
    I am still having the same error, i am certain i am using the most current version of everything (seas0nPass, ATV and iTunes)
     
  13. DrEnalg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #13
    Check out this, and most importantly this (I think it's the step some of you are missing).
     
  14. DrEnalg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #14
    Again, it's the "modify package contents" step I think is what's causing the problem for some here - basically I had to do this to make sure Pwnage 'knew' what IPSW file it needed to use in order to complete the JB... at least that's what it seemed like.
     
  15. From A Buick 8 thread starter macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #15
    Well, this did move me past the create custom ipsw step in PwnageTool, but i am still getting the error from itunes when i select the custom ipsw.

    what PwnageTool creates: AppleTV2,1_4.3_8F305_Custom_Restore.ipsw

    and this is what i chose in iTunes (while holding down the option key and clicking restore).

    iTunes will tease me and i think its going to work, but then i get this error.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. DrEnalg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #16
    Again, not sure this is a necessary step, but did you alter your etc/hosts file and have it point to the Saurik server? This, I believe, needs to happen in order to "fool" iTunes into thinking it's communicating with the Apple server - which allows the custom ipsw to be signed and approved.

    And if you do that you might as well save your shsh blobs via Tinyumbrella.
     
  17. From A Buick 8 thread starter macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #17
    Ok, since that is all Greek to me i can say no, i have not done that. Is that covered in the links you provided earlier.
     
  18. DrEnalg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #18
    No. Read this, learn this, love this.

    After re-reading it I think this is the step you need. So, basically, in order to JB AppleTV you need to do three basic things

    1) Have the appropriate JB software (I prefer Pwnagetool), and the appropriate (customized) IPSW file

    2) Make sure the JB software is properly instructed *which* IPSW file it needs (hence the 'modify package contents' step mentioned earlier in this thread)

    3) Alter your etc/hosts file to make sure iTunes doesn't communicate with the Apple server when it's installing the custom IPSW file - because Apple doesn't digitally "sign" custom IPSWs (because they don't approve of jailbreaking!)

    Then, you should be done, and ready to JB.

    For my part, I found in Pwnagetool that you need to have the power cord inserted in the ATV2 when you're running the JB (unlike in the instructions), but other than that it runs smoothly.
     
  19. margotspop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #19
    I had the same issue a couple of weeks ago. The solution for me was to edit my hosts file. You can do this via Terminal. There were a couple of mapped IP's in there that prevented iTunes from connecting to the server to verify the install. Do a quick google on this and you'll see which IP's to remove - I think it was anything that started with gs.apple...

    Keep a copy of your original hosts file and then try editing it. It worked for me.
     
  20. DrEnalg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #20
    Yeah, I saw you can edit the hosts file via the terminal - I just located it with the "view" Finder command, then I opened it and edited via Textedit. Pretty straightforward.
     
  21. margotspop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #21
    Looks like I got it the wrong way around - you edit the hosts file to *prevent* Apple from verifying it.
     
  22. Bijiont macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    #22
    I had the same error and had HOST name information correct.

    I figured it was something to do with my 10.7 install so I just did a reboot into Windows 7 and did the seas0npass break there with no issues. Bootcamp <3

    Something else you can try if you don't already have it working. The entire process takes less than 2 minutes for seas0npass.
     
  23. From A Buick 8 thread starter macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #23
    i might be able to borrow a lap top running windows 7 so i can try this.

    If i an understanding you, you did not need to to edit any of the host files, you just used seasonpass for windows and all wnet well.
     
  24. tileg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #24
    This is the solution that solved the problem for me.
     
  25. UniPro macrumors regular

    UniPro

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #25
    Having the exact same problem, doesn't matter what I do. Edited my hosts file and I still get the same erro. Tried under Windows and having problems getting the programs to work.

    Any help would be appreciated, I'm extremely frustrated.
     

Share This Page