Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

briantology

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 5, 2006
Has anyone ever changed the LEDs in the Creature IIs? If so, was it easy? I'm not a soldering expert, though I bet my dad could do a fine job. I've read that some white sets come (or did) with blue LEDs and that silver ones had green LEDs. But my silver ones have white LEDs (though the manual it came with stated they were green). Would it just be possible to buy a set of white Creature IIs with blue LEDs?

satellit-black.jpg

Either everyone hates me, or there really is no answer. Anyways, should I just put out a little more and go for the SoundSticks II? I've read that they are better than the Creatures. Does anyone recommend the SoundSticks over the Creatures?

aussie_geek

macrumors 65816
Apr 19, 2004
Sydney Australia
briantology said:
Either everyone hates me, or there really is no answer. Anyways, should I just put out a little more and go for the SoundSticks II? I've read that they are better than the Creatures. Does anyone recommend the SoundSticks over the Creatures?

why not just open one up and have a look. ? if it is a led, take it down to the local electronics store and see if you can get one the same but in blue

aussie_geek

xfiftyfour

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2006
Clemson, SC
i have the black creature IIs coming right now. i wish it was a blue LED, but oh well. as far as i know, it's not so easy to swap out the LEDs, but if your dad can solder well, he just might be able to do it.

only way to really find out about what kind of job it would be, though, is to open one up.

if you do - make sure to post your findings!

xfiftyfour

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2006
Clemson, SC
SpankyPenzaanz said:
you could always use colored saranwrap - its very ghetto:D