Jealous of your Macs.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by zachlegomaniac, Apr 8, 2009.

1. zachlegomaniac macrumors 6502a

zachlegomaniac

Hi Everyone,

I have a 3 1/2 year old ibook g4 with 1.3ghz/512RAM/60GB, and every time I browse through the posts here I notice everyone seems to have a relatively new mac at their disposal. The ibook is the only computer I have and it has never given me a single problem (yesss). MY problem is: I'm jealous/jonesing for a speedier machine at this point. I really think I should wait until fall 09 (unless this guy takes a sudden turn for the worse) to purchase a new macbook, but I'm not sure. Whenever I get on my brother or sister's macs (much newer) to carry out my daily computing needs (I'm a writer, but also oversee a large historical estate) I think daammmmnnn this thing is speedy, and I get to feeling a bit anxious. How often do you folks update your machines? Any sage words of advice? Where does everyone come up with the cash?

Thanks,
    Zach

2. Poncho macrumors 6502

Poncho

If you don't NEED a new machine wait.

I always pretend that I have already bought my new machine but it is in the shop being built to my own spec and that the longer I wait before going to pick it up the better and faster bits they can use to make it....

Voila! You already have a better Mac, just haven't got round to the shop to pick it up yet!

3. aross99 macrumors 68000

aross99

3.5 Years is pretty good for a laptop. My Powerbook made it about that long before I switched to a MBP. The change from the PowerPC chips to Intel was a significant performance increase - one we aren't likely to see again for a while. That is a significant reason why you notice such a big difference between a new machine and your iBook.

My MBP (C2D 2.33) is going to be three years old in November, and it still screams. Compared to what I see in the Apple store today, it seems like an upgrade would only be an incremental improvement for me.