Jedi Academy on Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Zortrium, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #1
    Has anyone successfully installed Jedi Academy on Snow Leopard? I'm pretty sure the game would work fine if I could get it installed, but the Install Part 2 immediately hangs when I try to launch it on my i7 iMac. There doesn't seem to be any way to manually complete the install and it happens both when installing from a disc image and a physical CD.
     
  2. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #2
    Am not sure about the installation of Jedi Academy on Snow Leopard, but I can assure you that the game play is fine.

    You say that the install application opens fine and installs part one, but then when you go to install part 2, it hangs?
     
  3. Zortrium thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #3
    Yeah, when it launches the Part 2 installer, it pops up the "Preparing to install..." box, then hangs indefinitely and shows "not responding" in the force quit dialog. I'm definitely not the only person who has/had this problem, as shown by this post over at the Apple store forums.

    I've been trying to install on my i7 iMac and have tried a whole bunch of remedies with no success. However, I just tried on my aluminum MacBook and the installation went off without a hitch. Both are running 10.6.2 and my MacBook has a lot more software gunk accumulated over the years than my month-old iMac, so my only guess is that there may be a conflict with the new iMacs (though I'm not sure what that would be). I'm copying over the installation folder from my MacBook to my iMac now, and I assume it'll run just fine.
     
  4. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #4
    That is very odd. Yes it is probably the new processor.

    I have never experienced any problems playing this game on my 17" MBP 2.4ghz on both Leopard and Snow Leopard.
     
  5. Zortrium thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #5
    It's running fine on the i7 iMac with one issue -- lens flare needs to be turned off or the game runs like crap (<5 fps, clearly a bug in the game and/or graphics driver) whenever any lights are on the screen. This include even minor things like turning the saber on.
     
  6. AliClifton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #6
    i cant the second installer yo work on my MBP either

    First one runs without a hitch and the second one just hangs,

    any solutions? Got any idea why it worked on your macbook? is it running snow leopard like mine?
     
  7. Zortrium thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #7
    Both were running 10.6.2 -- no idea why one worked while the other didn't, so my only recommendation is trying to install on another machine. I already emailed Aspyr support about this and the only response was "works fine for me on Snow Leopard".
     
  8. yoshiboo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    #8
    sorry to reactivate the thread, but did any of you get the game working? As i only have an intel mac and can't play the game at all
     

Share This Page