Jitter on 5th Gen Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Jozone, Mar 1, 2016.

  1. Jozone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #1
    Has anyone else encountered reliability issues with 5th Gen Airport Extremes? I've been suspicious of it crapping out for a while (this generation is known for a 'buzzing' noise on idle fresh out of the packaging). Im out of warranty and about to throw this thing out the window (and am even considering switching to a non-apple router for the first time in about 10 years). Do these results via iperf sound reasonable? The typical issue I am encountering -- across all devices -- is unreliable voice/video calling (packet loss/drops). Sustained download speeds are still fine, but my understanding is that getting Jitter under control is paramount for reliable VoIP/Video.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    @Jozone Is the AirPort your only router on the network? Is the AirPort in DHCP & NAT mode or is it in bridge mode.
     
  3. sevoneone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #3
    Was this test run LAN (local) to LAN? or LAN to WAN (internet)? If the later, I would make sure that it is not your modem/uplink equipment to your ISP first. I've had a couple cable modems die like this on me, cruising along fine and then gradually start dropping packets until it becomes a PITA problem.

    Also, I am assuming this test was done over a wired connection and not wireless.
     
  4. Jozone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #4
    Hi Guys - thanks for the responses!
    • this was run LAN to LAN (hardwired 2010 Mac Mini, to 2012 rMBP connected via Wireless).
    • The VoIP/Video Call issues all occur via wireless traffic.
    • I am using an Arris SB6183 (purchased standalone modem) on Cox.
    • AE 5th gen is the only router on network, latest firmware, running NAT/DHCP
     
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
    @Jozone Try running the test again between two different clients and compare the results. If that proves to have a better test, then try checking for jitter over WAN.
     
  6. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    Had this issue until I found a line was crossing a high voltage conduit. The interference was spectacular. Couldn't even hear the tone.
     

Share This Page