Job related question

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by renixomba, Mar 17, 2010.

1. renixomba macrumors newbie

I graduated last June with a BSME. I couldn't find a job of any sort except tutoring and sign holding. I did that for a while. Well my fortune turned and I landed a job as a full time Mechanical Engineer for a local company. My salary is only 30k and I'm expected to pull in long hours w/ no vacation/sick days until after a full yr. Even then its only 1 week/yr thereafter... I'm very happy they took me in but I recently heard back from a 62k/yr internship w/ great benefits I applied to a couple of months ago.

Of course I don't know if I'll get the internship so should I even bother to follow up for an interview? Is it even right to jump ship after working for only a month? I feel bad and I don't know what to do. How am I supposed to even request for a day off for an interview(current company is extremely strict).

Am I currently happy? Yes...I feel fortunate. It's a small happy company but there's a huge language barrier btw me and the sr. engineers training me. The work they do isn't that interesting either....

2. jecapaga macrumors 601

jecapaga

It's business. Of course you should do whatever you can to improve your situation especially right out of school. Take a Ferris sick day or whatever it takes to land the internship that pays double. Sounds like your current gig isn't so great anyway. Have no loyalty, you're not married. You're too young to really be worried about burning bridges. Man, I'm jaded. :eek:

3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

heck yes you better interview

sounds like your current company is paying way below industry average

anyone with a right mind would at least explore what the other job has, esp when the pay is double with alot better benefits!

do not think that you are hurting your company's feelings.

4. Synchromesh macrumors 6502a

Synchromesh