Job Search Advice

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by bag99001, May 1, 2019.

1. bag99001 macrumors member

Hello - I am a school administrator working in a "right-to-work" state and am leaving my current job this summer. I am having very little response to my applications so far unfortunately and am looking for advice. I believe my resume is strong except that I am leaving after one year due to a very unhealthy environment. I have a letter of recommendation from my assistant superintendent but the principal is the cause of my leaving so she is not on my reference list. Past job principals provided me letters but I am leaving after just one year so it looks "bad" in the education field. Is there any advice anyone could offer to help me get some more interest for my applications?

2. AlliFlowers Contributor

AlliFlowers

First of all, don't borrow trouble. The reason you are getting little response likely has nothing to do with your only having a year at a single school. In our district, administrators come and go at the whim of those above them. Staying a year at a school here means nothing.

More likely is the overabundance of administrators these days. We're in the middle of a huge teacher shortage, and a percent leave every year to pursue being administrators.

Are you looking within a single school system, or a broader area?

3. bag99001 thread starter macrumors member

I'm looking throughout two different states and applying to every appropriate job.

4. AlliFlowers Contributor

AlliFlowers

Just keep at it. Depending on the school calendars in your area, we're only just getting to the time of year for administrative moves. Or as I like to call it down here, the administrative shuffle.

Good luck!

5. Scepticalscribe, May 9, 2019
    Last edited: May 9, 2019

Scepticalscribe macrumors Westmere

Scepticalscribe

Appalling advice; encouraging outright lying on a resumé is dreadful, both morally and from a practical perspective.