Jumper Settings...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ComeOnDieYoung, Feb 4, 2008.

  1. ComeOnDieYoung macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #1
    I purchased a Seagate drive for my 3.0 mac pro, the jumper limits it to 1.5gb operations as opposed to 3gb... should/can I take it out?
     
  2. bigbird macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Yes, just pull the jumper out. Did the jumper to limit the drive come pre-installed? If so, that's kind of strange. I've never had internal HD's come with the limiting jumper installed.
     
  3. Reach macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    All the Seagate Barracudas I've seen has had the jumper-limiter on..

    I have taken them off usually, but don't know if there is a real difference to be had without RAID?
     
  4. ComeOnDieYoung thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #4
    YES. It came pre-installed, its a Seagate like the post under yours assumed.
     
  5. thxdave macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    From what i've been able to find on the web, the jumper is installed to force the drive to work with 1st generation SATA controllers on older computers. I haven't been able to find a definitive answer on the Apple FAQ's about what version of SATA controller they use, but you have to assume that it would be the latest and fastest. I got two Seagate drives in the last couple of weeks and they both had the jumper installed to force the slower data transfer speed. I pulled both of them. I haven't pulled the original WD 320 gig drive shipped with my 1/08 Mac Pro to see if it has a jumper installed. Anybody else checked theirs?
     
  6. kittiyut macrumors regular

    kittiyut

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
    Now that all my drives are installed and working properly, is it safe to just take the jumpers off?

    edit : I just took them off. No noticeable change in speed (using xbench). All 5 of mine came with jumper set to limit to 1.5!
     
  7. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #7
    Well, you're not really going to notice a difference in speed, as 1.5 Gbps is more than fast enough for any single drive out there in the world... 15K RPM drives included. You'd have to have RAID with a few drives before it mattered.
     

Share This Page