June Updates: How Probable? / Really Worth any Wait?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jzj687, Mar 1, 2008.

1. jzj687 macrumors regular

Hi,

I've been waiting for a new MBP revision since last June.
    I am currently running on my G4 PB (1.67ghz/1gb RAM).
    I really do need a new laptop, but could wait (grudgingly) until June.

However, the ONLY reason I would be waiting to buy one until then, would be because of the possibility of a case redesign.

So, my question to you guys is, how probable is a case redesign of the MBP in June?
    Is this impending aspect of the June update only rumours among users here or has it been discussed broadly on different sites as a major (and usually accurate) rumour?

I am a student and would also be interested in waiting for the student specials, but thats not a huge concern for me as I already own iPods.

I know it's super-annpoying to have yet another thread on this subject, but since the only concern I have is a case redesign, I was wondering how probable that aspect alone, of the possible June updates, is.

Thanks for your help.

2. Flyer0815 macrumors 6502

The next platform, Montevina, is expected to debut in early June. It is possible the new MBP's will follow shortly. However, being only days after the MBP revision, it is almost impossible to determine what a future MBP update would entail.

3. wolfattack macrumors member

I am a student as well, and i just ordered my first MBP on thursday.

Just buy it now, the longer you wait, the longer you will waste your own time looking at this site for meaningless speculations.

If you buy a mbp now, and the case redesign comes this summer, either keep your still very up to day laptop, or sell it for maybe 75-80% of what you paid for it, and buy the new one. But i just say buy it.

4. darfel macrumors member

Why wait...

You might get a redesign, what if you don't like it?

5. puke macrumors regular