Juniper VPN

bluespider

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 12, 2009
410
110
Space Coast FL
I'm not sure if it's a JAVA issue or Juniper, but i can login to Juniper VPN sites with Yosemite, but Network Connect just hangs... any one else experience this?
 

raddox

macrumors newbie
Jul 28, 2014
5
0
Atlanta
Juniper NC vpn

Yes, I have as well. I tinkered with it all day Friday...basically waisted a day of work. :O So I ended up restoring back to Mavericks.

I was hoping someone might have found a workaround by now...or soon.

I have looked at the logs from NC and its can't seem to create a good connection, it seems to be stuck in a loop. Also, looking at ifconfig on mavericks I see that two nic interfaces are created jnc0 and jnc1. This was not happening in Yosemite at all. I think the issue "could" be with ncproxyd...but I am speculating.
 
Last edited:

scaredpoet

macrumors 604
Apr 6, 2007
6,626
342
I have a Juniper VPN at work that we log into, and Network Connect works for me. Not sure what I'm doing different though.

On the other hand, I also have an OpenVPN-based VPN, and Viscosity stopped working in Yosemite for me (despite it supposedly being compatible).
 

raddox

macrumors newbie
Jul 28, 2014
5
0
Atlanta
Juniper VPN

Hmmm, what version of Java are you running, I am running 1.7_65? Seems like its a matter of the right configurations then. :)

I'd love to use Yosemite more while working to really help debug it.
 

raddox

macrumors newbie
Jul 28, 2014
5
0
Atlanta
Ok guys...found an alternative to network connect. I found pulse by juniper and it works like a charm for me on yosemite. Here is a link to it:
http://www.tcnj.edu/~nts/downloads/NetworkConnect/

JunosPulse.dmg 16-Jan-2014 13:42 9.1M
[ ] JunosPulse.x64.msi 16-Jan-2014 13:42 17M
[ ] JunosPulse.x86.msi 16-Jan-2014 13:42 17M
[DIR] v71R2/ 18-Jun-2012 07:48 -
[DIR] v72R4/ 13-Feb-2013 08:33 -
[DIR] v73R3/ 04-Jun-2013 10:58 -
[DIR] v74R2/ 16-Jan-2014 13:41 -

Above is what you will see. I download JunosPulse.dmg, however you can go to the "DIR" links to download NC...which still didn't work for me. But pulse is great, I don't even have to go to the sslvpn company page.

Anyway give it a go...I am stoked right now! No need to work on that PC given to me from work.

Good luck!
 
Last edited:

ringo79

macrumors newbie
Oct 22, 2013
25
0
I'm not sure if it's a JAVA issue or Juniper, but i can login to Juniper VPN sites with Yosemite, but Network Connect just hangs... any one else experience this?

Try this command:

sudo nvram boot-args="kext-dev-mode=1"

and then reboot
 

Frank in NL

macrumors newbie
Oct 23, 2010
16
31
NL
Try this command:

sudo nvram boot-args="kext-dev-mode=1"

and then reboot
Thank you ringo It works for me as well.
By the way... when Yosemite is out of beta should I "revert" this command? and if so then what is the normal setting?
 

j_maddison

macrumors 6502a
Mar 31, 2003
687
3
Nelson, Wales
Now the GM is out, is anyone experiencing problems?

I can get network connect to reconnect, but it just kicks into a never ending loop of reconnecting after five seconds. I do get a prompt asking for a password to allow atos debugging, what ever that is?

I've tried using Junos pulse, but it doesn't seem to work for me

Any help would be appreciated
 

j_maddison

macrumors 6502a
Mar 31, 2003
687
3
Nelson, Wales
I've managed to fix it, I rolled back to java 7 Update 71

Then ran the OS X Java update given a few posts back, and it will connect now thank goodness! I've turned the auto updates off.

Oddly enough overtime I tried to use a newer version of network connect it would roll me back to version 7.0, perhaps this is why Junos pulse wont connect

There are a few MacBooks in use in work, so hopefully IT will stumble across this problem and update their software.
 

rpramanik

macrumors regular
Aug 8, 2008
117
9
San Francisco, USA
This worked.

Ok guys...found an alternative to network connect. I found pulse by juniper and it works like a charm for me on yosemite. Here is a link to it:
http://www.tcnj.edu/~nts/downloads/NetworkConnect/

JunosPulse.dmg 16-Jan-2014 13:42 9.1M
[ ] JunosPulse.x64.msi 16-Jan-2014 13:42 17M
[ ] JunosPulse.x86.msi 16-Jan-2014 13:42 17M
[DIR] v71R2/ 18-Jun-2012 07:48 -
[DIR] v72R4/ 13-Feb-2013 08:33 -
[DIR] v73R3/ 04-Jun-2013 10:58 -
[DIR] v74R2/ 16-Jan-2014 13:41 -

Above is what you will see. I download JunosPulse.dmg, however you can go to the "DIR" links to download NC...which still didn't work for me. But pulse is great, I don't even have to go to the sslvpn company page.

Anyway give it a go...I am stoked right now! No need to work on that PC given to me from work.

Good luck!
This worked for me, same as use on Juniper VPN on iPad
 

Healz

macrumors newbie
Mar 29, 2012
12
6
Problem with Junos Pulse & Official Release of Yosemite

I'm hoping someone here can corroborate the issue I am experiencing. Recently, I installed the officially released version of Max OS X Yosemite and ran into issues using Juniper Junos Pulse (version 5.0.6 - build 48695). Everything worked perfectly with Mavericks, but not so well with Yosemite. The issue manifests itself by constantly trying to connect to my VPN server, but failing due to "Network Errors" (as indicated by the status line that appears below the connection indicator after clicking on the expansion triangle). After an entire day wasted debugging this issue, the only remedy, at the moment, appears to be a clean install of Junos after every reboot. This is a very frustrating problem, so hopefully, someone else has run into it and understands it better than I do. Does anyone know of a fix? :mad:
 

snayk

macrumors newbie
Oct 22, 2014
1
0
Thanks, This worked

Ok guys...found an alternative to network connect. I found pulse by juniper and it works like a charm for me on yosemite. Here is a link to it:
http://www.tcnj.edu/~nts/downloads/NetworkConnect/

JunosPulse.dmg 16-Jan-2014 13:42 9.1M
[ ] JunosPulse.x64.msi 16-Jan-2014 13:42 17M
[ ] JunosPulse.x86.msi 16-Jan-2014 13:42 17M
[DIR] v71R2/ 18-Jun-2012 07:48 -
[DIR] v72R4/ 13-Feb-2013 08:33 -
[DIR] v73R3/ 04-Jun-2013 10:58 -
[DIR] v74R2/ 16-Jan-2014 13:41 -

Above is what you will see. I download JunosPulse.dmg, however you can go to the "DIR" links to download NC...which still didn't work for me. But pulse is great, I don't even have to go to the sslvpn company page.

Anyway give it a go...I am stoked right now! No need to work on that PC given to me from work.

Good luck!
New Yosemite install. Pulse as recommended above didn't work for me, it kept saying waiting to connect. However, I tried the network connect in the folder v74R2/ and that worked:
Installed NC
Ran NC-> pointed to office VPN address
NC asked if i wanted to upgrade to latest version, I said yes.
NC did its upgrade thingy, and then connected me to the office VPN.
Everything work related including access to remote desktop servers works perfectly.

Thanks!
 

Pastmaster482

macrumors newbie
Jan 5, 2014
4
0
Juniper not working with Yosemite

I called and talked to Apple for couple of hours yesterday and they could not help. I am downgrading to Maverick Also.
There are many issues with Yosemite.....


QUOTE=raddox;19412347]Yes, I have as well. I tinkered with it all day Friday...basically waisted a day of work. :O So I ended up restoring back to Mavericks.

I was hoping someone might have found a workaround by now...or soon.

I have looked at the logs from NC and its can't seem to create a good connection, it seems to be stuck in a loop. Also, looking at ifconfig on mavericks I see that two nic interfaces are created jnc0 and jnc1. This was not happening in Yosemite at all. I think the issue "could" be with ncproxyd...but I am speculating.[/QUOTE]
 

Pastmaster482

macrumors newbie
Jan 5, 2014
4
0
Juniper Connect and Yosemite

I have been trying to use Juniper Connect with Yosemite. First is logs on for 30 seconds then I get a message "ATOS wants to debug enter your admin password"
After I do this I loose all internet connection and have to re boot.
I was on the phone with apple for couple of hours yesterday and they had no clue!
so I am downgrading to Maverick from a back up, I hope I will not loose my files and that Juniper will now work!
:(
Really disappointing that Apple Launched Yosemite with so many issues.
 

kdorin

macrumors newbie
Oct 22, 2014
1
0
This worked for me

1. Upgraded to Yosemite from Mac App Store
2. Upgrade Java to 8 update 25 and add https://sa.juniper.net to exception site list in Java control panel (in system preferences)
3. Download latest Firefox
4. Download and Install latest Network Connect from https://sa.juniper.net/dana-cached/nc/networkconnect.dmg
5. Run the following commands using terminal:
sudo chmod 755 /usr/local/juniper/nc/
sudo mkdir '/Application/Network Connect.app/Contents/Frameworks'

6. Launch Firefox and go to sa.juniper.net and do the usual stuff.
 
Last edited:

j_maddison

macrumors 6502a
Mar 31, 2003
687
3
Nelson, Wales
After reverting to an older version of Java, network connect worked for over a week and this morning went back to bringing up the Atos prompt.

I'm not sure what's changed in this period for it to suddenly stop working, but very frustrating none the less

Does anyone know if these issues have been fixed in the latest beta build?
 

bostonsox

macrumors member
Nov 24, 2012
93
29
I am having a different kind of problem. I use Junos Pules to connect to my company's VPN. Recently I upgraded from Mavericks to Yosemite, and now, whenever I turn the VPN on, my computer freezes to the point that even stops writing the system.log file (I think).
After a couple of minutes within connecting to VPN, I am unable to open any app. The already open ones are barely usable. In fact, I can't even restart from the menu. I have to do a hard restart.
I have already tried:
- upgrading Java to version 8u25
- clearing temp files from Java pref pane
- reinstalling Junos Pulse multiple times
- reseting PRAM
- Repair Disk permissions in safe mode
- using VPN via Safari/Chrome
- setting kext arguments (sudo nvram boot-args="kext-dev-mode=1")
- checking that my wifi is in DHCP mode

One odd symptom I have noticed is that while in the freeze mode, if I try to access system.log, it gives me access denied error. I am an admin user and can access the log while not in this freeze mode.

My system config:
Junos Pulse v5.0.5
MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Late 2013)
Processor 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics Intel Iris 1536 MB

I am now out of options. Does anybody have any options that I can try before a clean re-install of Yosemite?
 

jc500

macrumors newbie
Jan 4, 2015
1
0
Bostonsox - I see almost the exact same behaviour, but I'm using Network Connect.

I can connect, and get about 1 min of usability, before things start freezing, can't start any additional apps, and the ones running become unusable, system won't shutdown and need's a hard reset to get it going again. I'm using

Network Connect v8.0.4
Java 1.6 (the apple version)
And a brand new install of Yosemite, on new mac book pro.
Have tried different versions of Java (that have other problems)
And get the same behaviour if I start via Safari or Chrome Canary

Will be very interested in how you go with a solution.


I am having a different kind of problem. I use Junos Pules to connect to my company's VPN. Recently I upgraded from Mavericks to Yosemite, and now, whenever I turn the VPN on, my computer freezes to the point that even stops writing the system.log file (I think).
After a couple of minutes within connecting to VPN, I am unable to open any app. The already open ones are barely usable. In fact, I can't even restart from the menu. I have to do a hard restart.
 

bostonsox

macrumors member
Nov 24, 2012
93
29
Bostonsox - I see almost the exact same behaviour, but I'm using Network Connect.

I can connect, and get about 1 min of usability, before things start freezing, can't start any additional apps, and the ones running become unusable, system won't shutdown and need's a hard reset to get it going again. I'm using

Network Connect v8.0.4
Java 1.6 (the apple version)
And a brand new install of Yosemite, on new mac book pro.
Have tried different versions of Java (that have other problems)
And get the same behaviour if I start via Safari or Chrome Canary

Will be very interested in how you go with a solution.
No luck yet. My IT guy said that there is a newer version of Junos Pulse (5.0.7), and that he is testing it out. Once he is done, I'll try it out and let you know.
 

bostonsox

macrumors member
Nov 24, 2012
93
29
Bostonsox - I see almost the exact same behaviour, but I'm using Network Connect.

I can connect, and get about 1 min of usability, before things start freezing, can't start any additional apps, and the ones running become unusable, system won't shutdown and need's a hard reset to get it going again. I'm using

Network Connect v8.0.4
Java 1.6 (the apple version)
And a brand new install of Yosemite, on new mac book pro.
Have tried different versions of Java (that have other problems)
And get the same behaviour if I start via Safari or Chrome Canary

Will be very interested in how you go with a solution.
Also, I just learned that in my office, I am not the only one with the problem. But on the other hand, it does work for some people.
 

nottooshabby

macrumors 6502
Jul 12, 2008
353
39
Anybody have this working reliably? I can connect OK with network connect to my VPN, but when I hit the sign out button, it doesn't completely sign me out about 2/3rds of the time. Then I get prompted about ATOS needs my password to debug, then it tries to reconnect again to my vpn. It seems to screw up my wireless connection after that too, so I need to restart.

What does this command do that is mentioned early in the thread?

sudo nvram boot-args="kext-dev-mode=1"

I haven't tried it yet.