Just a question, maybe stupid

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by feyn-man, Nov 2, 2007.

  1. feyn-man macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #1
    When you guys install windows on a Mac, bootcamp or parallels or vmware, anyway, you will spend money to buy a windows copy?
    that expensive I think.
     
  2. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  3. feyn-man thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #3
    Yes, of course.
    I just wonder why so many people being rich enough to spend money on two system. Except for those really need a windows.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Well, it's not like Windows costs you another $1000. It's pretty much like paying for any other software. If you need it, you get it. If your needs are basic, you can get an OEM copy of XP for not too much. You could also use Crossover, which doesn't require a copy of Windows (but isn't compatible with everything, either).

    Plus, most Mac users aren't exactly poor.
     
  5. machatch macrumors regular

    machatch

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    depends
    #5
    yeah you would buy it after the 30 days expire ore download a hacked version ore not..:D..i dont have a hacked version but i bet there are some macuser who haves it?:)..i think the cheapest place to buy legit are http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_g...search-alias=aps&field-keywords=windows+vista
    where you could buy it used and new??..
     
  6. feyn-man thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #6
    excellent! could tell me about what you said......what is OEM copy? and what is Crossover? sometimes, not frequently, i need IE. Just IE, so I don't sure if an integrity windows is needed.
     
  7. machatch macrumors regular

    machatch

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    depends
    #7
    oem is the cheapest copy wich includes not word,exel,etc...
     
  8. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    no it aint no versions of windows comee with office

    as far as i an aware you can onlt use an oem copy of a software on 1 pc or something like that its meant for system builders
     
  9. feyn-man thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #9
    That's all right. IE is only I needed. Thanks a lot.
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    OEM = Original Equipment Manufacturer. They're copies sold to people who are making computers themselves. So usually they come in simpler packaging and without manuals, but they are cheaper. I think Newegg.com usually has them. It's generally considered legal and proper to buy one for a purpose like this.

    Crossover Office is a product based on the WINE technology -- basically, it's a set of libraries that take the place of Windows rather than allowing you to run an actual copy of Windows. What that means is that you can run many Windows programs on top of Crossover / WINE without using Windows itself. However, you still must pay for Crossover (not free). See this link:

    http://www.codeweavers.com/
     
  11. feyn-man thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #11
    Okay, thank you so much
    BTW, if I buy and install a windows on vmware (or other Virtual Machine), can I install it on other PC use the same windows copy?
     
  12. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    Not legally, no (unless you purchase more than one product key). With Vista product activation, it might not be possible at all, let alone illegal.

    You can install the same copy for use by both Parallels and Bootcamp, though, for instance (i.e. you can run it in the parallels virtualization but also completely boot off the Windows partition, without OS X running at all, if you want to).
     
  13. machatch macrumors regular

    machatch

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    depends
    #13
    ok.whats really the difference then?oem,premium,home,office,ultimate? - go figure...small differences... in mac os you get them all no premium,ultimate etc...i know that in oem you get that crappy wordpad..:)
     
  14. machatch macrumors regular

    machatch

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    depends
    #14
    something like this?
    http://www.amazon.com/VMware-Inc-VM...1614812-2713444?ie=UTF8&qid=1194053637&sr=8-3
     
  15. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #15
  16. machatch macrumors regular

    machatch

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    depends
    #16

    Attached Files:

  17. machatch macrumors regular

    machatch

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    depends
    #17

    how is crossover in use.do you recomend it?
     
  18. macjay macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    #18
    I'd buy a full retail version of Vista Basic (cheap off eBay) before buying an OEM version. The full retail version gives you the flexibility to transfer it to another machine if you want (after uninstalling from the prior machine).

    With an OEM version, the OS is permanently tied to the first machine it's installed on.
     

Share This Page