just arrived! overlooked one thing, ...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by petitrouge, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. petitrouge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    #1
    haha, the keyboard. i meant to get wireless. bang head. so i call the biz team who set my order up @ my apple store (1 mile away) and ask if i can upgrade/exchange that. NO!!! they would have to return the WHOLE THING! seriously!?!? ugh.

    devil in the details, huh.
     
  2. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    I think that's because the standard wired keyboard is a pack-in item that comes standard with every Mac Pro.
     
  3. cjt3007 macrumors member

    cjt3007

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    It's always best to have a wired one around, you can always get a wireless later.
     
  4. seedster2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Couldnt agree more. I have had my apple wireless keyboard sh#t the bed and a wireless keyboard kept me going
     
  5. philbeeney macrumors 6502

    philbeeney

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Brampton, ON
    #5
    I'll second this. I have a PowerBook which is used as a desktop (sits on a stand, etc) and the Apple Bluetooth keyboard I had packed up suddenly. Changed the batteries, nothing. Faffed around and took it apart, put it back together, nothing.

    Taking the laptop off the stand with all the cables and wires to use the built in keyboard was too much of a PITA, so I went a bought one of the Apple flat wired keyboards which I'm currently using. It's quite handy especially with two USB ports built in.
     
  6. petitrouge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    #6
    okay, thanks for pointing that out. :) i'm coming from PC land and one thing i'm sick of, are the wires. the freakin' wires required for my wireless microsoft keyboard )*#&$#@$#.

    i'm in pursuit of less wires, when at all possible. :D

    mac pro came 2 days earlier than i thought!!! my RAM + SSD drive aren't here until tomorrow...
     
  7. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #7
    ...and its nice to have a number pad along with the USB ports...
     
  8. Mike225 macrumors 6502a

    Mike225

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    SF BAY
    #8
    Uh, what? Use a bluetooth keyboard then... No wires on a Mac or "PC". If you don't have bluetooth on your old computer then don't complain, because thats your fault.
     
  9. Gh0stKiller macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #9
    :( You're not gonna make a lot of friends like that, Negative Nancy.
     
  10. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #10
    The bluetooth in the 2009 (and I assume the 2010) is awful.

    The bluetooth keyboard and the magic mouse don't work properly even when the distance is less than two feet.

    Wired kb + mighty mouse + 100m USB BT ftw.
     
  11. Mike225 macrumors 6502a

    Mike225

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    SF BAY
    #11
    Some people can't handle plain English. Not my problem.
     
  12. sboerup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #12
    couldn't live without my keypad, FAIL on the wireless part. Plus, like others have said, always good to have a wired, it gives you 2 extra USB ports as well!
     
  13. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #13
    I would have liked to have gotten wireless too, but alas, I need that pesky number pad. Sure I could get a logitech keyboard, but those are expensive, plus the apple one is just so nice to type on
     
  14. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #14
    :cool:
    Yeaaaa, I thought like this for a while too, but a simple and great iPhone app called "NumPad" solved that requirement easily. Only $4 too :cool:
     
  15. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #15
    Doesn't solve the lack of full size arrow keys, or the other buttons between the numpad and the main keyboard.
     
  16. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #16
    The app has those buttons too ;)

    Just swipe over a screen on the left to find the middle buttons.
     
  17. petitrouge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    #17
    uh, yeah, i don't, hence, new one. but i didn't buy this computer for its bluetooth, but i'll be happy to use it! ;)

    i won't touch the mouse. i use a tablet.
     
  18. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #18
    get a wireless keep the other also :)

    tax season the stock one is nice with the keypad :)
     
  19. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #19
    I did the same thing OP. I called Apple and they had to re-do my order (thanks to my credit card company) and when they did I didn't catch that they put the wired keyboard back on.

    Oh well not like it would have been my main keyboard anyway. I mostly just used it for my iPad.
     

Share This Page