Just bought a 2.4 GHz Macbook! quick question

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by CruJones21, Jan 11, 2009.

1. CruJones21 macrumors newbie

CruJones21

Long story short I had been a PC user for a long time but always wanted to make the switch to Mac. I have some experience from college with Macs (Web Design Major) so we used Macs in the classrooms. Well unfortunately my house was broken into on new years:mad: and they got away with my Dell laptop, xbox, games, and my conference championship ring! So I have been looking for a replacement since and it was a tough decision on what to get but I finally made the switch to a Mac with the Macbook purchase, and it is going smoothly for the most part! I love the computer, it's awesome in every way and I've caught on to everything pretty easily and now its just time to get everything set up.

Everything was going perfectly till i tried hooking up to my printer that is on our network here at the house. I am having the hardest time finding out how to connect to it. I've read many posts and googled a whole bunch of times and now I'm asking ya'll for for any help. It's an HP Photosmart C4100 model, had my previous laptop hooked up no problem to it across the network. Any advice would be helpful.

2. taskmaxter macrumors newbie

I am running into similar problems. I do not know what type of network you are running, but I am trying to get my Macbook to connect to a Canon printer on a Vista network. I think it is called print sharing. Haven't had much luck yet. Anyway, you can do a search on the "OSX/Network" forum and probably pull some input there.

3. CoreyMac macrumors regular

i connected a new canon printer on a network recently...its very simple. Just make sure both computers have sharing enabled. (On a mac just go to system preferences, then the sharing folder, click on printer sharing and enable it and select the printer you want to share (plug it in to the mac first))

dont forget to install the software :p