Just bought a Core Solo Mini!

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by afultz075, Nov 16, 2007.

  1. afultz075 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #1
    So I just snagged a Core Solo Mini off of Ebay for a very nice price.
    Im planning on using it as a complement to my 23" LCD TV. How well will this work for recording TV with a EyeTV Tuner and then playing it on the TV considering it's the Solo model?
    Also, it's coming with 1GB RAM, however, I have 2GB of ram from upgrading to 4GB in my SR MBP. Will this RAM work in the Mini?
     
  2. lallenlowe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #2
    sweet deal

    it's gonna work great man, especially if the usb device you get does the encoding first. But it'll work just fine for that, hmmm, maybe not HD, but everything else will be great.
     
  3. TheQuestion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Location is relative, no?
    #3
    I have no problems with a very similar setup for the exact same purpose. I have only 1 GB ram and it works just fine.
     
  4. afultz075 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #4
    Also, am I gonna have to do any tweaking to get the Mini to run at the 1366x768 resolution of my TV?
     
  5. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #5
    Core Solo will only operate at 480i/p. Core Duo is what you need for 720p/1080i.

    You could look into an upgrade CPU if you are going to upgrade the memory...
     
  6. redshift20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #6
    Why would the processor limit the capabilities of the video card? Whether or not the Core Solo Mini will put out 720/1080 is purely a result of the video processor & amount of memory available to it.
     
  7. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #7
    The mini uses the GMA950, so the Core Solo has to help it.
     
  8. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #8
    Here's the specs from Elgato Systems:

    http://www.elgato.com/content/en/systemreqhybridna.php


     

Share This Page