Just bought a new MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by inverder, Aug 8, 2008.

1. inverder macrumors newbie

Hi everybody,

I just purchased a new MacBook 2.1Ghz from the local Apple store. It is my first Mac so I thought I would share my experience.

Not only have I been a Windows based PC user for years, I am also studying Computer Science. Much of my studies are done in a Windows environment. My reasons for the "switch" are not based off of a hate for Windows. I am an early adopter of Vista and although I have had a few problems, I still think it is a nice upgrade over XP.

So what brings me here...

Well I will be studying abroad in Germany for a year starting this fall and I needed a notebook. I hate Windows based notebooks. It might just be that I am used to dual monitors, but Windows on a notebook feels cluttered. I disdain the small trackpads and that it takes me forever to locate a window that has been opened into the taskbar. I knew that was not the way I wanted to go.

Last summer I interned with an organization that had me working with a couple of XServes. I grew to appreciate the OS for its UNIX base and clever design aspects. There were things that I hated of course. Why did each application have its own definition of maximize or why was there only one toolbar for every open window! Nonetheless, I decided to look to Apple for my notebook choice.

I spent countless hours this summer pouring over websites such as MacRumors debating over which MacBook was right for me. I spent even longer contemplating whether or not Apple would upgrade the darn thing before I left. In the end I decided that the base MacBook was right for me and the free iPod touch was too lucrative of a deal to pass up even if I would be missing out on a nice Aluminum shell.