Just bought a new Penryn Mac Pro at retail store

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Lumpydog, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. Lumpydog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #1
    Just bought a new MP at the Apple Store in Peabody, MA.

    They got them in this morning according to the sales rep.

    They have two configurations that they will carry.

    1) The "Base" configuration - the $2799 model that is the default configuration available on the Apple website (Which I jst purchased)

    2) The "Ultimate" configuration - which they did not have in stock. The sales rep did know it would be based on the 3.0 Ghz processor and said it would likely have a larger hard drive. Was unsure if the viseo card was bumped up or not.

    Mine has an overnight shipping sticker on it so they shipped'em yesterday.

    Lumpy
     
  2. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Good to know Apple has product. Hopefully the review sites will get some today or tomorrow and start taking them apart so we can verify the CPU models used for the 3.0GHz part and such.
     
  3. viltsu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #3
    How loud is it? Tell us more about it. Every impressions you have! :cool:
     
  4. ziwi macrumors 65816

    ziwi

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Right back where I started...
    #4
    Good for you - please provide details after you set it up.
     
  5. EvilDoc macrumors 6502a

    EvilDoc

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Circumventing the multi-verse...
  6. Lumpydog thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #6
    I bought it while out at lunch - I'm at work. I'm not getting home until late - so no unboxing until tomorrow night. Sorry guys - someone else will have to do the honors.

    Lumpy
     
  7. ktbubster macrumors 6502a

    ktbubster

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    US
    #7
    we need someone to get a 2.8 like you did... now all we need is someone to get the 2.8 single quad core processor to verify if they are the same minus the heatsink and extra chip.

    gotta know if we can upgrade later down the line! :)
     

Share This Page