Just bought a refurb uMB and it's amazing but...

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by joshuarobi, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. joshuarobi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Arcata, CA
    #1
    ...it won't connect to home wifi while my old WhiteBook is.

    I have cable internet and a Linksys wifi router.
    Both Macs are running Snow Leopard.
    Whitebook connects just fine.
    uMB finds network, but Airport icon in menu bar has an exclamation point and states "Self-Assigned IP address".

    How do I work around this? I'll have my old one for another month or so and would like them to both be able connect to the network.

    Mroogle results didn't find anything conclusive.

    Thanks all.
     
  2. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Get network up, in system preferences n copy the IP address from the Whitebook, to the uMB. Everything should be the same pretty much, except change the assignment number on the address like so xxx.xxx.xx.02 or something like that?

    Hope this helps

    PTP
     
  3. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #3
    Follow me...

    System Preferences > Network > Airport > Advanced > TCP/IT > Select "Using DHCP". That'll let the computer set it's own IP address.
     
  4. joshuarobi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Arcata, CA
    #4
    It's already setup like that, just like the old one.
     
  5. joshuarobi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Arcata, CA
    #5
    Ok. I copied the one from the old mac using DHCP with manual address and it's working now. Will this affect other networks when I'm out roaming around?

    Edit: That did NOT work. Only for a second.
     
  6. joshuarobi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Arcata, CA
    #6
    I figure both macs can't have the same IP address. Correct?
     
  7. Styxie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Holland
    #7
    Yeah dude, every computer has it's own ip-adress, so only one computer per ip-adress. Have you tried rebooting both the router and the MacBook?
     
  8. joshuarobi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Arcata, CA
    #8
    Yeah Now airport shows full bars but Safari still won't connect.
     
  9. joshuarobi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Arcata, CA
    #9
    Copying the IP address and changing the last number to one digit higher causes AirPort to show the network working fine, but Safari and Firefox still can't connect.
     

Share This Page