Just bought the Blackbook, Google, Yahoo and Youtube wont work

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by rpelleg, Jul 24, 2008.

  1. rpelleg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #1
    All other website work perfectly, but for some reason i my mac cant get on google or yahoo. if i go to youtube the formatting is all screwed up. I can load the other sites fine on my dell laptop, but for whatever reason these three websites wont work for my mac....

    Whats going on here??
     
  2. CaptainCaveMann macrumors 68000

    CaptainCaveMann

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    #2
    That's really weird. Did you try re-setting safari?
     
  3. rpelleg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #3
    yeah i did that....i asked everyone i know who owns a mac and they never heard of this problem before
     
  4. thechidz macrumors 68000

    thechidz

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    its not your mac, thats for sure. it must be something with your connection
     
  5. Baer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #5
    Hey I was wondering if you ever found anything out on this issue as I have encountered the same one and have not found anything out yet?
     
  6. someguy7014 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
  7. someguy7014 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #7
    if you are connected to a Wifi network that isnt yours i.e a public or work or school Wifi network it could well be the proxy server.
     
  8. Baer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #8
    I have tried using other networks and still have the same problem. When I ping yahoo this is the result:

    ping: sendto: No route to host
    PING yahoo.com (68.180.206.184): 56 data bytes

    --- yahoo.com ping statistics ---
    10 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

    This is the result of doing a look up of yahoo:

    ; <<>> DiG 9.4.2-P1 <<>> yahoo.com +multiline +nocomments +nocmd +noquestion +nostats +search
    ;; global options: printcmd
    yahoo.com. 742 IN A 68.180.206.184
    yahoo.com. 742 IN A 206.190.60.37

    And this is the result of the traceroute:

    traceroute: Warning: yahoo.com has multiple addresses; using 68.180.206.184
    traceroute to yahoo.com (68.180.206.184), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
    traceroute: sendto: No route to host
    1 traceroute: wrote yahoo.com 40 chars, ret=-1

    Google gives the same messages but youtube seems to respond okay but the website only lists words and no pictures/logos.
     
  9. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #9
    Is your MacBook new from Apple or used?

    If used, the last owner may have modified /etc/hosts.

    Open Terminal and type:
    Code:
    less /etc/hosts
    Are there any entries for yahoo and google there?

    Edit: Actually, if you're getting 68.180.206.184 as yahoo's IP address during the ping, your DNS is working correctly. So forget what I said about /etc/hosts

    This is weird. Do you anything like Little Snitch or a third party firewall installed?
     
  10. Baer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #10
    Wow I feel really stupid now. I completely forgot that I had a firewall running. It must have got some weird update or something because it just quit working recently. Thank you very much for your help.
     

Share This Page